Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43

Thread: Problem with network card

  1. #21

    Re:Problem with network card

    The command for getting an IP from DHCP would be something like
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    assuming your nic is eth0.
    If that doesn't work, try
    Code:
    ifdown eth0
    dhclient eth0

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Have to try it first... Thanks


    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96165 date=1127396438]
    The command for getting an IP from DHCP would be something like

    Code:
    dhcpcd eth0
    assuming your nic is eth0.

    [/quote]

  3. #23

    Re:Problem with network card

    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96166 date=1127396535]
    Have to try it first... Thanks


    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96165 date=1127396438]
    The command for getting an IP from DHCP would be something like

    Code:
    dhcpcd eth0
    assuming your nic is eth0.

    [/quote]
    [/quote]
    Check my updated post. I might have had the command wrong.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    I tried both code, and it still did not work. I can't show you the error messages.

    But what I can say is: when enter /sbin/ifdown eth0
    then /sbin/dhclient eth0 and the message comes out as no hardware and the dhcpdiscover with no repsond. No IP address. nothing works.

    I can't even make any changes when in su mode

    The Linux OS is on another machine and I need ot disconnect the Window machine before I can startup the Linux Machine.

    Help Help SOS ???
    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96165 date=1127396438]
    The command for getting an IP from DHCP would be something like
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    assuming your nic is eth0.
    If that doesn't work, try
    Code:
    ifdown eth0
    dhclient eth0

    [/quote]

  5. #25

    Re:Problem with network card

    Can you post the results of the following commands?

    Code:
    /sbin/ipconfig
    (you might want to mask your ip address, if it shows as part of the output)

    and

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolve.conf

  6. #26
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811

    Re:Problem with network card

    And perhaps the result of
    ~ > /sbin/route -n

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:40:AF:C9
    inet addr:0.0.0.0 Bcast:0.0.0.0.0 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2875542 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    TX packets:218647 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x210

    This is what i see, the sub mask is wrong, because I checked and and it should be 255.255.240.0

    I hope I got you enough info.

    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96195 date=1127475108]
    Can you post the results of the following commands?

    Code:
    /sbin/ipconfig
    (you might want to mask your ip address, if it shows as part of the output)

    and

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolve.conf
    [/quote]

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Ok I check through the web site and they say if I am using starhub cable modem I should just install this software DHCP client daemon.
    I search the web but unable to get into this FTP site. Does anyone out there have this software?


    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96200 date=1127494443]
    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:40:AF:C9
    inet addr:0.0.0.0 Bcast:0.0.0.0.0 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2875542 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    TX packets:218647 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x210

    This is what i see, the sub mask is wrong, because I checked and and it should be 255.255.240.0

    I hope I got you enough info.

    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96195 date=1127475108]
    Can you post the results of the following commands?

    Code:
    /sbin/ipconfig
    (you might want to mask your ip address, if it shows as part of the output)

    and

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolve.conf
    [/quote]
    [/quote]

  9. #29

    Re:Problem with network card

    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96201 date=1127497426]
    Ok I check through the web site and they say if I am using starhub cable modem I should just install this software DHCP client daemon.
    I search the web but unable to get into this FTP site. Does anyone out there have this software?


    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96200 date=1127494443]
    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:40:AF:C9
    inet addr:0.0.0.0 Bcast:0.0.0.0.0 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2875542 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    TX packets:218647 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x210

    This is what i see, the sub mask is wrong, because I checked and and it should be 255.255.240.0

    I hope I got you enough info.

    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96195 date=1127475108]
    Can you post the results of the following commands?

    Code:
    /sbin/ipconfig
    (you might want to mask your ip address, if it shows as part of the output)

    and

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolve.conf
    [/quote]
    [/quote]
    [/quote]

    DHCP client daemon is dhclient, which you said you already tried.
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    /sbin/dhclient
    so we can try and see what's the error?

    Also, is the the ifconfig command giveng out the 0.0.0.0 ip address, or did you just put the 0's there to hide your ip?

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Sorry about that, not hiding, just did not give you the full error message.
    Anyway, got the full error message for you.

    [root@localhost ~] # /sbin/dhclient eth0 (entering the dhclient code)

    Internet System Consortium DHCP Client V.3.0.1
    Copyright 2004 Internet System Consortium
    All rights reserved
    For info: please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP

    sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
    sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
    listening on: LPF/eth0/00:0e:2e:32:73:6b
    sending on: LPF/eth0/00:0e:2e:32:73:6b
    sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1

    No DHCPOFFERS received
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping

    [root@localhost ~]# /etc/resolve.conf
    Permission Denied

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/ifconfig/

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet : HWaddr 00:0e:2e:32:73:6b
    inet6 addr:: fe80:: 20e:2eff:fe32:736b/64 ScopeLink
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Rx packet:6838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    Tx packet:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    Rx:bytes:412254 (402.5KiB) Tx bytes:2088 (2.0KiB)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0xdc00

    Lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet addr: ::1/128 ScopeHost
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    Rx packets: 4017 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    Tx packets: 4017 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    Rx bytes: 5141618 (4.9MiB) Tx bytes: 5141618 (4.9MiB)

    Ok folks, that is all I manage to get. Please look through and let me know how to resolve this issue.

    Thank you



    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96203 date=1127499496]
    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96201 date=1127497426]
    Ok I check through the web site and they say if I am using starhub cable modem I should just install this software DHCP client daemon.
    I search the web but unable to get into this FTP site. Does anyone out there have this software?


    [quote author=hawkcl link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96200 date=1127494443]
    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:40:AF:C9
    inet addr:0.0.0.0 Bcast:0.0.0.0.0 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2875542 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    TX packets:218647 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x210

    This is what i see, the sub mask is wrong, because I checked and and it should be 255.255.240.0

    I hope I got you enough info.

    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96195 date=1127475108]
    Can you post the results of the following commands?

    Code:
    /sbin/ipconfig
    (you might want to mask your ip address, if it shows as part of the output)

    and

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolve.conf
    [/quote]
    [/quote]
    [/quote]

    DHCP client daemon is dhclient, which you said you already tried.
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    /sbin/dhclient
    so we can try and see what's the error?

    Also, is the the ifconfig command giveng out the 0.0.0.0 ip address, or did you just put the 0's there to hide your ip?
    [/quote]

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Network Card in RH7.3
    By dkny01 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 05:28 PM
  2. Network Card Problems
    By OrangeSlushy in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2003, 05:06 PM
  3. Ack network card %&@$ up crap
    By cindir in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2002, 11:29 PM
  4. Add a network card
    By benny666 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2002, 02:49 AM
  5. configuring second network card
    By chadm1967 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2001, 03:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •