Thread: Dual boot on Linux

Dual boot on Linux

I am new to Linux and have an easy question. I believe that it is possible to have a dual boot Linux machine. Is this correct? So I could install Linux 7.2 and 8.0 on the same box?

To take this further, could I have my database running on 8.0 and my apache web server running on 7.2 and have both functioning at the same time?

Thanks - I greatly appreciate any help.

Monte

Re:Dual boot on Linux

Hi,

You can have different versions of different OS's installed on your machine. However, you can't have them running at the same time.

At boot-up, you must choose what OS to boot from.

Re:Dual boot on Linux

When you say Linux, can I assume you mean either RedHat or Mandrake? Linux itself is about to arrive at version 2.6, but RedHat and Mandrake are both in the ranges of 7-8-9-ish. If that is indeed the case, I urge you to consider Debian (http://www.debian.org/ ) or Fedora ( http://fedora.redhat.com/ ) as RedHat has ceased support for its end-user product, and Mandrake's future is still a little unstable (plus there's talk of including advertisements in the distribution to increase profits for a dying workhorse...something you definitely don't want). Debian and Fedora are the two major community-supported distributions. I can tell you from experience that Debian is extremely robust, and I've heard pretty good things about Fedora as well. As for your question...

A dual boot is possible and extremely common. This means that when you start up your machine, you can choose EITHER one OS OR another.