Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Using a laptop display on a desktop
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using a laptop display on a desktop

  1. #1

    Using a laptop display on a desktop

    Someone gave me am old, broken laptop that still has a good LCD. I was thinking of hooking that to a spare box. Does anyone know if this is posible?

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:Using a laptop display on a desktop

    At the minimum, you'll need a video card with a DVI (digital) output. Then you'll have to find a way of connecting the DVI output to your laptop display. Good luck ...


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    345

    Re:Using a laptop display on a desktop

    Damn near impossible. Take apart the laptop and find the monitor connection. Not exactly a regular VGA or DVI plug. Probably need a special controller to run the thing, even if it does work with DVI you'd practically need a masters in electric engineering to get the wires into a plug right.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Using a laptop display on a desktop

    Well if hardware is out of the question, use software.

    VNC.

  5. #5

    Re:Using a laptop display on a desktop

    I thought of that, but It doesn't exactly fit my need (no Harddrive...). Although I guess I could always just run it off Knoppix...

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Using a laptop display on a desktop

    [quote author=trickster link=board=3;threadid=8094;start=0#msg73817 date=1068750720]
    Although I guess I could always just run it off Knoppix...
    [/quote]

    Yeah, I am sure you can find a slick CDR distro that floats your boat.

Similar Threads

  1. Share Internet, Laptop Wifi, Desktop Wired Linux/Netbsd
    By joshual in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 05:08 AM
  2. IE can't display but DNS works ...
    By Compunuts in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 04:35 AM
  3. Anyone wanna buy a laptop.....not just ANY laptop ....
    By boblucci in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-11-2002, 10:53 PM
  4. display
    By torch in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2002, 04:14 AM
  5. RH 7.3. Flickering display
    By mrkeef in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2002, 03:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •