Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    25

    How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?

    This old fish HAD 0.9 opening all links in the same tab/window (unless of course I middle clicked) and I can't remember if it was a setting or extension or what but when I upgraded to 1.0 - ACK - it started opening new windows - I managed to get it to only open background tabs using the tab extension but that's the best I can do. Damn I hate losing the brain cells but that's the way it goes. I guess this is a pet peeve of mine - if I want a new window/tab I know how to open it all by myself.

    Anybody know how to pull this off? There used to be a "this window" extension which added an open in this window option to the context menu but then I did something so I could just click and NO new tab/window.


    Thanks in advance.


    O.F.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Re: How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?

    Firefox 1.0 does not open tabs for me.

    http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/tips#beh_reuse

    Reveal More Tab/Window Options

    There are some hidden options for the Tabbed Browsing that will allow you to force links that open new windows to open in the current or a new tab. First, add the following code to your user.js file:

    // Reveal more tab/window options:
    user_pref("browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs" , true);

    Restart Firefox and go to Tools > Options... (Edit > Preferences... under Linux and MacOS X), select Advanced and click on Tabbed Browsing. The following options should be visible:
    Force links that open new windows to open in:
    the same tab/window as the link
    a new tab

    The options should be self-explanatory.
    Good luck

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    25

    Re: How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?

    Thankyou!

    This was what I had done the last time and couldn't remember. In my fumbling around I made the mistake of installing the Tab Extensions which kept the

    "Force links that open new windows to open in:
    the same tab/window as the link
    a new tab"

    option from showing up. So I uninstalled that extension and now I'm happily back where I was with 0.9.

    Thanks again.

    O.F.

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206

    Re: How do I force firefox to open links in same tab/window?

    :w00t:

Similar Threads

  1. libXmu.so: cannot open shared object file: Too many levels of symbolic links
    By shupi in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2006, 05:18 AM
  2. Thunderbird: Default app used to open links in email
    By vwgtiturbo in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11-17-2004, 01:59 PM
  3. Delta Force!
    By johnqpublic in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2003, 03:56 AM
  4. changing links in 'Save As..' window
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-02-2002, 04:24 AM
  5. Brute force?
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-26-2002, 03:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •