Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
NAT, eth1 and eth0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: NAT, eth1 and eth0

  1. #1

    NAT, eth1 and eth0

    My question is a few lines down!

    Right now I'm running Linux RH 9 on a celeron 300/128 MB.

    eth0 is my outside NIC and is being configured by the DHCP of my ISP. (www.demon.nl) I'm not sure what the protocol is but they make me part of their network. I don't think they setup a VPN like and avarage DSL line

    eth1 has a fixed IP (192.168.10.200) and needs to be configured as my gateway for my LAN.

    Running:
    iptables
    webmin
    turtlefirewall (webmin module)
    squid proxy (webmin module)

    As far as I can check my proxy is working. (I tied my linux box to my window$ gateway and it worked.)

    My firewall is granting me acces through my window$ client (192.168.10.213) , with whom i can connect to my linux gateway. I can connect to webmin using my browser and I can do a remote login with putty to setup a SSH connection.

    So here is my question...

    How do I get my connection going with my ISP. I know I need to set up a NAT rule, I tried a few things but did'nt work so far. I know I have to NAT all outgoing traffic. I want that my lan uses 192.168.10.200 (eth1) as gateway. Ofcourse I want to connect to the outside with eth0. How do I get those two NIC to communicate with each other? Need more info, let me know!

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    472

    Re:NAT, eth1 and eth0

    Use a firewall script like gShield (muse.linuxmafia.org). It is nicely commented in the config file.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:NAT, eth1 and eth0

    [quote author=ph34r link=board=4;threadid=7912;start=0#msg72276 date=1065702777]
    Use a firewall script like gShield (muse.linuxmafia.org). It is nicely commented in the config file.
    [/quote]

    To add to that; use the site freshmeat.net to find frontends. Firestarter is antother that comes to mind. There are a plethora that can assist in doing what you need.

  4. #4

    Re:NAT, eth1 and eth0

    I finally got my gateway up and running! Still a lot to be done, like printers acces for my window-based lan...

    Thanx people!

Similar Threads

  1. Device Eth1 does not seem to be present
    By Plaethos in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 05:24 AM
  2. How do I bring up eth1 @ boot
    By crazy ivan in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-06-2003, 08:38 AM
  3. 2 ip's / eth1 + monitoring and setting limit speed
    By bYTeGr4v3 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2003, 02:44 PM
  4. Setting up eth0 from CLI
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-16-2002, 05:38 PM
  5. eth0 and Debian
    By Kernel_Killer in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2002, 02:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •