Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
RH questions about MBR and first sector
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: RH questions about MBR and first sector

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Guest

    RH questions about MBR and first sector

    I did not see any place to place this question so i'm going to place it here.

    I did want my bootloader on the MBR and i want it on the first sector of my hard drive. How do i put it on the first sector without reinstalling RH?? I do not want to reinstall it or delete any partitions and no i did not create a bootloader floppy disk. Please reply back. Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector


  3. #3

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    That is the default option for when you install Red Hat

  4. #4
    Guest

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    trickster: I really need you to help me. I just reinstalled RH and i put it on the first sector of my hard drive and now RH won't boot up. It's only booting right into Windows XP and no bootloader manager. Why is that?? Please reply back. Thanks trickster.

  5. #5
    Guest

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    ok. Does anyone else know why Redhat won't boot?? Please reply back and help me if you can. Thanks guys.

  6. #6

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    Reinstall RedHat again and put it on the MBR instead.

    Or you might want to try Mandrake. You might find it easier.

  7. #7
    Guest

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    One, I don't have Mandrake yet. 2. Why do i have to put it on the MBR?? I want to see how well it will work on the first sector of the hard disk. Please reply back. Thanks.

  8. #8

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    When your computer boots up from your hard disk, the first place it looks is the MBR for instructions. Right now, your MBR is saying to your computer "boot directly into Windows." If you reinstall RedHat, and put the bootloader on the MBR, this will override the old data with RedHat's bootloader (which will give you a choice between Windows and Linux).

    Judging by what I've seen from you around these forums, I think you might really like Mandrake. It's the easiest distro I've ever tried.

  9. #9
    Guest

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    Then why the hell do they have a choice for the bootloader to boot off of the first sector of the hard disk?? That is really strange i think. I'm going to make a reply to see what's up with trickster and the CD's.

  10. #10
    Guest

    Re:RH questions about MBR and first sector

    Man, I was talking to schotty early today in IM and he should of told me that i will had a problem by booting off of the first sector of the hard disk.

Similar Threads

  1. just a few odd questions
    By 10Dedfish in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 03:49 AM
  2. MOVED: RH questions about MBR and first sector
    By trickster in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 04:09 PM
  3. CPU Questions
    By stryder144 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 08:31 PM
  4. KDE Questions
    By trickster in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2002, 01:15 AM
  5. DNS questions
    By agar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2001, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •