Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: To all Mandrake 9.X and RedHat 8/9 Dialup users

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    To all Mandrake 9.X and RedHat 8/9 Dialup users

    Could you do me a favor and post the results of 'route' before you dial and after? Especially RH users. Please connect, from the fancy Network Device tool, aka 'neat'. This is for troubleshooting. If you are in the same boat as me, all you need to do is post the results of:

    route
    ifup ppp0
    route

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Paradise, Ca
    Posts
    177

    Re:To all Mandrake 9.X and RedHat 8/9 Dialup users

    Schotty,

    Sorry, man, I didn't see this request until just now.

    I am using an updated Shrike and a dialup, and here are the results of both before and after:

    Before:

    bash-2.05b$ route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.0.1 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    bash-2.05b$

    After:

    bash-2.05b$ route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    s101-1.saber.ne * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
    192.168.0.1 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    default s101-1.saber.ne 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ppp0
    bash-2.05b$

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:To all Mandrake 9.X and RedHat 8/9 Dialup users

    Thanks man!

    Sorry, but I am the one to apologize. I had a really stupid misconfig in my DHCP server where it was screwing up my default route. I knew that Mandrake and Red Hat worked **PERFECT**. I was curious as to what the hell they did that I wasnt in Debian and Slackware.

    Well I eventually figured out my error. Now it all works fine.

    But thanks, I am glad that you posted your setup. I think I posted my description in the thread regarding ppp/Kppp. (Here or in the networking forum).

    Either way, I am really suprised that my error lasted since RH9 came out. They obviously are doing more behind the scenes than I thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Dialup for Redhat
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 05:19 AM
  2. Mandrake 9.0 and dialup settings.
    By Schotty in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 08:09 PM
  3. Nice wallpaper for RedHat users
    By Black666 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 01:34 PM
  4. Mandrake 8.2 users READ IN NOW
    By Spot in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-26-2002, 04:22 AM
  5. adding users in mandrake
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-27-2001, 03:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •