Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

  1. #1

    Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    hey,

    i tried doing a search here but came up empty. i want to be able to connect to my mandrake box running vnc server (@ home) from my laptop running winvnc(win2k) . i guess im running rbfdrake or whatever it is on mandrake. i can do this fine at home on my lan but not when im away.

    i have a linksys router as well. i have a port forwarded but thats for me to connect to remote desktop on my other machine on the lan. any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    this is very easy to do.

    The easiest way to do it is go and get the tar.gz package and install it.

    the readme tells you how to do it...

    cd in to the directory and then run ./vncinstall /usr/local/bin

    then cd in to /usr/local/bin and run the vncserver command enter the password you want and thats it!!

    read this this will get your display to work.

  3. #3

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    thanks for the link, i also read the read me too and dont see anything related to a linksys router. wont that matter? i WILL tell you though when i tried to connect to the linux box at home from work i entered

    24.xx.xx.x:0 and not a 1 at the end but i dont know if that would make the difference. i will have to try again tomorrow or later if i can.

  4. #4

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    You probably just need to find what port vnc uses, and forward it to the vncserver computer.

  5. #5
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    [quote author=S.D.Willie link=board=2;threadid=7327;start=0#67501 date=1057181673]
    thanks for the link, i also read the read me too and dont see anything related to a linksys router. wont that matter? i WILL tell you though when i tried to connect to the linux box at home from work i entered

    24.xx.xx.x:0 and not a 1 at the end but i dont know if that would make the difference. i will have to try again tomorrow or later if i can.
    [/quote]

    When you type vncserver it tells you what the session name is.

    It's usually NOT the ip address of the box but the name of the box. mine is nine:1. In the viewer you just type computername:1

  6. #6

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    thanks boblucci, sent you a PM

  7. #7

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    the ip address works, it probably is on :1 because linux's X display is :0 so vnc is for the next display (unless you use x0rfb). port 5900 is the default vnc port and 5901 is for :1

  8. #8
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    did you ever get this to work?

  9. #9

    Re:Connecting from vnc/windows to vnc/drake

    sorry it took me so long to get back to here. nah, it didnt work as i just got around to trying tonight.

    i left the drake box on only @ home and i setup port 5900 to 5901 for forwarding then tried to connect with my external ip

    i tried 24.x.xx.xxx:5900
    24.x.xx.xxx:5901

    nothing. i also tried 24.x.xx.xxx:0 and 24.x.xx.xxx:1 but none would work. so im im left still pondering.

    oh, and i AM using xorfbserver by the way

Similar Threads

  1. help connecting to a windows network
    By Bujar in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-29-2008, 09:12 AM
  2. Speedtouch USB and Drake 10.0?
    By Baron_Flambe in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-07-2004, 05:10 PM
  3. Help with connecting a mac to a windows domain.
    By boblucci in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 12:42 AM
  4. Drake PPC
    By Kernel_Killer in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-07-2003, 08:17 PM
  5. Drake betas
    By johnqpublic in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-14-2001, 12:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •