Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: slackware bootup

  1. #1

    slackware bootup

    i just installed slack 9 and everything went fine, lilo is fine, and it boots up into text only and just give me the login, and i log in, but i want to go to the gui but i dont know how. i dont know what command to type in order to get it started.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:slackware bootup

    startx will attempt to start it, but you may have a few problems. If you do run xf86cfg and that will help you configure it, then startx should work
    CP

  3. #3
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:slackware bootup

    Once you get X configured correctly, you may want X to automatically start. To do this, change the runlevel from 3 to 4 in /etc/inittab.

  4. #4

    Re:slackware bootup

    thanks everything is working fine..... is there a way to do like an auto update in slack? to get newer packages

  5. #5
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:slackware bootup

    nothing official. I think that there is apt for slack, but I don't know how good it is.
    CP

  6. #6

    Re:slackware bootup


  7. #7

    Re:slackware bootup

    thank you.....

  8. #8

    Re:slackware bootup


  9. #9

    Re:slackware bootup

    one more thing, i am trying to install the driver for my geforce4 from nvidias site and i downloaded the tar.gz file, and it said that i needed binutils to install it. so i went and downloaded binutils and tried to install it, i am using the kpackage manager to do it. and it said it was a .tgz file. so i just renamed it to .tgz from tar.gz and it will open it in the package manager and it will say PACKAGE DESCRIPTION: and then it will wait a second and then it will just close and not install it.

    i dont know know really how to install stuff yet, so i am using that i am really confused... any one help?

  10. #10

    Re:slackware bootup

    Rename it back to .tgz. From a console, as roo, change to the directory where the package is, and type installpkg packagename.tgz pkgtoolis also useful.

    I thought binutils was part of the default install...

Similar Threads

  1. Improved KDE bootup time
    By jro in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2005, 03:31 AM
  2. eth0 initialization & bootup failure
    By destinationme in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2005, 12:42 AM
  3. linux wont pass bootup
    By aromes in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2003, 05:15 PM
  4. Disabling xinit at bootup
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-05-2002, 04:15 PM
  5. How do I get rid of Mandrake bootup screen?
    By BruceLeroy in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2002, 07:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •