Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt




    Whenever using XMMS to play oggs/mp3s from a mounted
    cdrom, XMMS will stop playing and do nothing. I
    cannot kill the process, or umount. I have to reboot
    to fix it.

    Using clt+alt and F1, I get out of the GUI, get a
    login screen, login in and get this error:

    HDC: Lost Interrupt.

    Google the output and get this website

    http://www.greenend.org.uk/rjk/2002/...interrupt.html


    I check my /proc/interrupts


    CPU0
    0: 10307351 XT-PIC timer
    1: 12545 XT-PIC keyboard
    2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
    3: 123161 XT-PIC SiS 7018 PCI Audio,
    EMU10K1
    5: 13429 XT-PIC eth0
    6: 22 XT-PIC floppy
    8: 1 XT-PIC rtc
    11: 0 XT-PIC usb-ohci, usb-ohci
    12: 213315 XT-PIC PS/2 Mouse
    14: 82148 XT-PIC ide0
    15: 115332 XT-PIC ide1
    NMI: 0
    ERR: 1


    Looks like I have ide0 and ide1 being used...and ide1
    is using IRQ15, which is right, correct?


    ...and then check my /proc/ioports and get


    0000-001f : dma1
    0020-003f : pic1
    0040-005f : timer
    0060-006f : keyboard
    0070-007f : rtc
    0080-008f : dma page reg
    00a0-00bf : pic2
    00c0-00df : dma2
    00f0-00ff : fpu
    0170-0177 : ide1
    01f0-01f7 : ide0
    0376-0376 : ide1
    0378-037a : parport0
    03c0-03df : vga+
    03f2-03f5 : floppy
    03f6-03f6 : ide0
    03f7-03f7 : floppy DIR
    03f8-03ff : serial(auto)
    0cf8-0cff : PCI conf1
    4000-400f : Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513
    [IDE]
    4000-4007 : ide0
    4008-400f : ide1
    c000-cfff : PCI Bus #01
    c000-c07f : Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS630
    GUI
    Accelerator+3D
    d800-d8ff : Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS PCI
    Audio
    Accelerator
    d800-d8ff : SiS 7018 PCI Audio
    dc00-dc1f : Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1
    dc00-dc1f : EMU10K1
    e000-e007 : Creative Labs SB Live! MIDI/Game Port
    e400-e47f : 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX
    [Cyclone]
    e400-e47f : 00:0b.0
    e800-e8ff : Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    RTL-8139/8139C


    I have ide1 listed twice.
    0170-0177 : ide1
    0376-0376 : ide1

    Is this right?


    Further on, this website advices to add
    "ide1=0x170,0x376,14" to the kernel command line to
    stop this error.

    I am not totally sure I understand how to do this or
    why ide1 is showing up twice under /proc/ioports.
    Could someone shed more light on this for me.

    thanks

    -Chris

  2. #2
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    32

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    I had this problem before, it bothered me for the longest time. If you have recently compiled a kernel you might try enableing multi-mode by default, in the ide device section. With the chipsets and everything.
    You might also check your bios and see if you have ide prefetch enabled, that caused alot of problems like this with my via chipset based motherboard.

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    [quote author=Tully link=board=1;threadid=6816;start=0#63766 date=1050242816]
    I had this problem before, it bothered me for the longest time. If you have recently compiled a kernel you might try enableing multi-mode by default, in the ide device section. With the chipsets and everything.
    You might also check your bios and see if you have ide prefetch enabled, that caused alot of problems like this with my via chipset based motherboard.
    [/quote]

    Two Things:

    1. I checked my BIOS and I didn't see an option to kill ide prefetched enabled, is there anything else that I should look for?

    2. How do I enable multi-mode on my kernel for the ide section?

    thanks


  4. #4
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    32

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    If you didn't see a section for ide prefetch mode, then I don't guess its adjustable on your motherboard,
    to enable multi-mode you need to recompile your kernel
    its in the ATA/IDE/MFM/RLL support section of menuconfig. It is
    in the ide section and its labeled Use multi-mode by default.

    These are the only things I can think of off the top of my head.
    Hope something helps you a little

  5. #5

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    hello,
    per that web site i would add this to lilo or grub
    ide1=0x170,0x376,15

    for lilo add an appand line - there is an example in the ide cdwriter here
    http://www.linuxjunior.org/cgi-bin/p...splay&id=8

    to pass stuff to the kernel in grub do this:

    Code:
    This example also has options passed to the kernel, unlike LILO which requires the word append GRUB simply has options listed after the kernel listed - but on the same line. The line in the example GRUB file has the options to use SCSI emulation for two hard drives.
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.18-3 ro root=/dev/hdb1 hdd=ide-scsi hdc=ide-scsi

  6. #6
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    [quote author=pbharris link=board=1;threadid=6816;start=0#63790 date=1050290706]
    hello,
    per that web site i would add this to lilo or grub
    ide1=0x170,0x376,15

    for lilo add an appand line - there is an example in the ide cdwriter here
    http://www.linuxjunior.org/cgi-bin/p...splay&id=8

    to pass stuff to the kernel in grub do this:

    Code:
    This example also has options passed to the kernel, unlike LILO which requires the word append GRUB simply has options listed after the kernel listed - but on the same line. The line in the example GRUB file has the options to use SCSI emulation for two hard drives.
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.18-3 ro root=/dev/hdb1 hdd=ide-scsi hdc=ide-scsi
    [/quote]

    Ok, I am not sure about this, but how do i know which one I am using, grub or lilo?

    They both appear under my /etc directory.

    thanks


  7. #7

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    what distro

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    [quote author=pbharris link=board=1;threadid=6816;start=0#63804 date=1050329097]
    what distro
    [/quote]

    My bad, RH 8.0.


  9. #9

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt

    hello,
    you would be using grub unless you did something different at install time, you propably did not, i am guessing the line should look much like this:

    Code:
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.20-6 ro root=/dev/hdb1 ide1=0x170,0x376,15

  10. #10
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Re:Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt



    I am not very familiar with grub, so which one do I want to change? The one under /etc/grub.conf or boot/grub/grub.conf?

    This is what my grub.conf looks like:

    Code:
     
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to 
    this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda2
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=1
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-26.8.0)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-26.8.0 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.18-26.8.0.img
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-14)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-14 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.18-14.img
    So, I probably need to modify the lines with title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-26.8.0) and add after the line

    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-26.8.0 ro root=LABEL=/ ide1=0x170,0x376,15

    Is this correct?

    thanks



Similar Threads

  1. lost interrupt during install
    By S_D_Willie in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 02:38 PM
  2. Lost Interrupt
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-25-2002, 01:47 PM
  3. checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)
    By HuFlungDung in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 11:59 PM
  4. Lost interrupt?
    By johnqpublic in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2001, 02:25 AM
  5. VIA2 slot interrupt stuck
    By HKFranz in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2001, 09:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •