Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes



    Here is what I have going:

    Two RH machines, 7.1 (hostname hoth) and 8 (hostname phoenix), and one is a gateway/router/dhcp server/firewall and the other is just a pc.

    I want to setup NFS between the two so I can move files among them. One, is this bad from a security standpoint? Since Hoth is a gateway/router/dchp/firewall.

    Two. To set this up. I would setup /etc/exports like

    /home/foo hoth

    Can I put in the hostname, since I am running DHCP?

    thanks


  2. #2
    Guest

    Re:Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes

    its security would depend, I think, on your firewall setup. Are you using chains or tables? U need to set it up to disallow any nfs connections on anything but your systems. Also, why dhcp? If it is just those two boxes, it is much easier to just go with a static ip. /etc/exports is the file used to setup the exported filesysytem, but to be on the safefguide I would go to www.tldp.org and get the how-to. Better safe than sorry.

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    39

    Re:Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes



    I will use iptables and I will block nfs then. What about ssh cause I do have that setup as well? I don't want to block ssh at my firewall cause I want to be able to ssh into any of my machines on my network, I will have 3.

    BTW, is DHCP not the way to go then? I really don't want to worry/manage this.

    thanks


  4. #4

    Re:Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes

    If you only have 3 machines then i would just setup a static ip. That would make your config alot easier.

    10Ded

  5. #5
    Guest

    Re:Setting up NFS between two Linux boxes

    SSH is fine to allow through the firewall. That is one of the main purposes behind it. Its a "Secured" Shell, so it uses an encrypted password where apps like telnet do not, by using an rsa encryption protocol.

Similar Threads

  1. Switching boxes
    By Kejpa in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 02:19 PM
  2. Keep your boxes in time sync
    By peter in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 05:37 AM
  3. html boxes
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-02-2002, 05:00 AM
  4. Insecure boxes at computer lab?
    By rick420 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-13-2002, 08:29 PM
  5. help setting up linux !
    By redromeo in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2002, 05:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •