Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Virtual RAID
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Virtual RAID

  1. #1
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735

    Virtual RAID

    I want to do a 5.6 gb install on an older machine. The problem is, it hsa 2x 4gb hard drives. I was wondering if there was a way that I could make it look like one 8gb hard drive without having to make it a hardware thingo. Can it be done?
    My Website:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    My Website Uptime:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  2. #2
    Guest
    Redhat (fedora) will setup software raid for you.

    The only thing is that you HAVE to have an ext3 partition for your boot partition.

    Its fairly easy....

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska
    Posts
    31
    If you have / on one HD and /home on the other, it'll be seamless to users as it is all one filesystem. 8)

  4. #4
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    I managed to get a software RAID to work. However, the install was painfully slow! Really slow! I eventually just gave up and installed only what I needed...
    My Website:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    My Website Uptime:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

Similar Threads

  1. Issues creating a VLans using virtual NICs (Virtual-hosts)
    By knight72 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 11:37 PM
  2. back up virtual machines in Virtual Server 2005
    By regix in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 09:03 PM
  3. Raid 1
    By cloverm in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2004, 06:09 PM
  4. RAID rocks... Floppy RAID rocks more?
    By in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 07:42 PM
  5. IDE-RAID
    By BaerRS in forum Suse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2001, 12:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •