Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: installing intel NIC

  1. #1

    installing intel NIC

    Here are the instructions provided by intel (I'm installing Intel PRO/100 nic on RedHat 7.3)
    4. Compile the driver module:
    make install
    The binary will be installed as one of the following:
    /lib/modules/<kernel_version>/kernel/drivers/net/e100.o
    /lib/modules/<kernel_version>/net/e100.o

    5. Install the module:
    insmod e100 <parameter>=<value>
    6. Assign an IP address to the interface by entering the following, where
    <x> is the interface number:

    OK, compillation went without errors, I issued insmod e100 (I didn't know what to specify in <parameter>=<value> ) and it worked fine (I guess, there were no output, when I issue this command again I receive the message that module already exist).
    Modprobe e100 doesn't produce the output......
    But I don't see new NIC being displayed in ifconfig......
    Anything else I should do ?

  2. #2

    Re:installing intel NIC

    hello,
    redhat 7.3, has some pretty good tools (e.g. netcfg )to do all this for you, anywho, look in /etc/sysconfig/networking and create interfaces as needed, e.g. ifcfg-eth1

    you may need to also issue a /etc/initd.d/network restart

    hth

  3. #3

    Re:installing intel NIC

    i've created ifcfg-eth2 manually and it worked, thanks.
    I have a couple of questions though:
    1. modprobe e100 sometimes produces the output saying that this is intel nic..bla,bla,bla....but most of the gives no output at all....is that normal?
    2. When I plug/unplug network cable I receive the message 'link is up, intel...full duplex...'
    In order to switch it to autodetect, what should be done?
    (Should I recompile it ?)
    3. Is there any way to query for half-duplex, full-duplex settings on the nic without plugging/unplugging the cable?
    Thanks.

  4. #4

    Re:installing intel NIC

    [quote author=elovkoff link=board=1;threadid=6676;start=0#62695 date=1048612542]
    i've created ifcfg-eth2 manually and it worked, thanks.
    I have a couple of questions though:
    1. modprobe e100 sometimes produces the output saying that this is intel nic..bla,bla,bla....but most of the gives no output at all....is that normal?
    [/quote]
    If you are using the same arguments I am not sure, haveyou run depmod -a ? if the module is already laoded then i am not sure what it would do.

    [quote author=elovkoff link=board=1;threadid=6676;start=0#62695 date=1048612542]
    2. When I plug/unplug network cable I receive the message 'link is up, intel...full duplex...'
    In order to switch it to autodetect, what should be done?
    (Should I recompile it ?)
    [/quote]
    i really doubt you would need to recompile it, i would pass media type auto to the ifconfig command. for what would go in /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth2 i am not sure.


    [quote author=elovkoff link=board=1;threadid=6676;start=0#62695 date=1048612542]
    3. Is there any way to query for half-duplex, full-duplex settings on the nic without plugging/unplugging the cable?
    Thanks.
    [/quote]
    sure! just do a ifdown eth2, do the stuff and then an ifup eth2,
    or ifconfig eth2 down then a ifconfig eth2 up

  5. #5

    Re:installing intel NIC

    i mean is there any way (without unplugging or bringing the interface down...suppose users are conencted to this interface) to issue some command that will report how interface is configured (regarding half or full duplex config)?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:installing intel NIC

    yeah, sorry not to respond sooner but this is a lesser known command that can kick ass (especially when you need it)

    Code:
    [schotty@wildturkey schotty]$ /sbin/mii-tool
    eth0: no autonegotiation, 100baseTx-FD, link ok
    [schotty@wildturkey schotty]$

  7. #7

    Re:installing intel NIC

    Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    That's what I was looking for.
    Thanks a lot.

  8. #8

    Re:installing intel NIC

    BTW - this tool can be used to force FD or restart autonegotiation. Cool.

Similar Threads

  1. intel 810
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2006, 02:06 AM
  2. AMD vs Intel
    By genesis in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 07:03 AM
  3. Apple & Intel
    By GhostDawg in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 06:24 PM
  4. Intel vs AMD
    By CP in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-06-2001, 03:27 PM
  5. Intel MD563x on RH7.1 for MSN
    By plantiful in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2001, 09:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •