Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962
Wireless hotspots?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wireless hotspots?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Indiana?... We named the dog Indiana!
    Posts
    488

    Wireless hotspots?

    The UPS Store that I use is trying to provide a hotspot for wireless connections... But they're trying to charge a fee to do it. My understanding of this technology is that just about anyone can tap into the hotspot, without having any clearance what so ever (like just parking outside the store and surfing for free). Is it as simple as allowing, or disallowing certain IP's, or what? I'm new to this, so any discussion from those who know is appreciated .
    Steve

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    They probobly give you an account. Any attempt to access any sort of internet resources brings you to you log in screen (some kind of routing service) once you log in, the ip you logged in from will be granted access to the internet. Now thats not to say some clever sniffing couldnt get you a valid login and pass but, I wouldnt know anything about that

  3. #3
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    I have a wifi card in my laptop, and sometimes I am able to access the internet in certain places without any security clearance or nothing! In Australia, there is a group that is promoting the use of wifi for free!
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Indiana?... We named the dog Indiana!
    Posts
    488
    Ok, cool. Thanks for the responses. I saw a wireless "sniffer" at Office Depot today for about $30USD. I didn't get it, but now that I have built-in wireless, it's nice to know about these things :mrgreen: .
    Steve

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    Well many places do have free wireless (my neighbors are an example) but places that do charge usually have that type of gateway system i described

    snct. dont worry about the sniffer thats nothing your linux laptop and kismet cant do and do much better.

  6. #6
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206
    apt-get install kismet?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    ummm dunno about debian, its sure as hell in portage 'emerge kismet' works like a dream

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Indiana?... We named the dog Indiana!
    Posts
    488
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatal Error
    apt-get install kismet?
    Yep... That would be my first guess (though I need to read up on kismet first ).

    Thanks for the tip ZR. I'll look into it.
    Steve

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Indiana?... We named the dog Indiana!
    Posts
    488
    I'm having a little trouble... Specifically what software and/or configuration tool do I use in Linux to connect to a wireless internet point? I did some reading about Kismet, but as usual (for Linux) I still don't really know how to make the connection.

    The Kismet man page says something about the client side being an ncurses thingy whatsits??? What does that mean, and how can I tell Konq how I want to connect to the internet. I never understood anything about ncurses, so...?

    To clarify... I'm using the 2.6 kernel and Kismet is already installed on my Knoppix 3.6 distro. This isn't an urgent thing, but it's a little frustrating because I've done the install away from home (wired ethernet), so WiFi is the only internet connection I've got until I get back home.
    Steve

  10. #10
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,206
    snct, Did you try a reboot with the live CD and the wireless running?

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless USB
    By Fatal Error in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 04:22 PM
  2. Wireless USB
    By Fatal Error in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2005, 12:41 AM
  3. Wireless Help please
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2003, 09:56 PM
  4. Wireless Help
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-14-2003, 02:08 AM
  5. Wireless Lan
    By johnny_fourskins in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2002, 11:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •