Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Setting Path in Mandrake
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Setting Path in Mandrake

  1. #1
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Setting Path in Mandrake

    I've put the directories I want in my path in /etc/profiles and /home/cp/.bash_profile yet it hasn't done anything, what file do I need to edit to add extra dirs to my path? Mandrake 9.0
    Cheers
    CP

  2. #2

    Re:Setting Path in Mandrake

    hey CP, i edit either /etc/bachrc or ~/.bashrc and then i add a line that looks like this:
    export PATH=$PATH:/new/path

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Setting Path in Mandrake

    [quote author=CP link=board=1;threadid=6624;start=0#62225 date=1048065070]
    I've put the directories I want in my path in /etc/profiles and /home/cp/.bash_profile yet it hasn't done anything, what file do I need to edit to add extra dirs to my path? Mandrake 9.0
    Cheers
    CP
    [/quote]

    Code:
    [schotty@wildturkey schotty]$ cat .bash_profile
    # b.ash_profile
    
    # Get the aliases and functions
    if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
    . ~/.bashrc
    fi
    
    # User specific environment and startup programs
    
    PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin:/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.1_01/bin
    
    export PATH
    export LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libGL.so
    unset USERNAME
    [schotty@wildturkey schotty]$
    That help? MDK 9 btw too.

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:Setting Path in Mandrake

    I already had it in my .bash_profile and it hadn't worked, so I tried putting it in /etc/bashrc and that seemed to do it.
    Cheers
    CP

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Setting Path in Mandrake

    Did you log in and out? I needed to do that. And that means X too ;D


Similar Threads

  1. setting PATH environment variable
    By omidkamangar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 11:10 PM
  2. setting up tv card in mandrake 9.1
    By grasshopper in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 02:09 PM
  3. Path
    By mugs in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-24-2002, 08:35 PM
  4. Add to PATH
    By trickster in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-28-2002, 10:26 PM
  5. Upgrading and setting PATH
    By trickster in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2002, 05:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •