Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dual head setup.

  1. #1
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Dual head setup.

    I'm getting another monitor tomorrow, and I want to run a dual head setup(dual 17in *drools*). My primary graphics card is an GeForce2, and for secondary I have a Voodoo 3. To set this up what do I need to do? Is it possible with the graphics cards I have? I'm using Slack 9.0beta, which has XFree86-4.2.1.1, and I'm running KDE-3.1 on top of that. Thanks for you help
    CP

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Dual head setup.

    yeah, pretty simple actually.

    Configure all of the devices == both VGA cards and monitors.

    Then in the server layout part,
    Code:
               Section "ServerLayout"
                   Identifier  "Layout 1"
                   Screen      "MGA 1"
                   Screen      "MGA 2" RightOf "MGA 1"
                   InputDevice "Keyboard 1" "CoreKeyboard"
                   InputDevice "Mouse 1"    "CorePointer"
                   InputDevice "Mouse 2"    "SendCoreEvents"
                   Option      "BlankTime"  "5"
               EndSection
    You setup the orientation of the screens. man XF86Config had that snippet.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:Dual head setup.

    Thanks guys, I just got my monitor, its a second have Philips Brilliance 107MP, got it off the university and it cost me $115, roughly $55 US.

  5. #5
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:Dual head setup.

    Ok, it kinda works, I just can't drag windows from one monitor to the other if I drag it off the edge of the screen it just dissappears and then once my mouse in on the other monitor the window is on the opposite side of the original monitor. Any ideas why?
    Cheers
    CP

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:Dual head setup.

    Right now you're running two displays, but they're two different X sessions. You can't drag from one X session to the other. I run my box this way because both I've got two differnet types of video cards in there. GLX causes problems because the nVidia card uses it, and the ATI card doesn't. Anyway....to fix your problem:

    Either insert this in your XF86Config file

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "Xinerama" "true"
    EndSection

    or

    type startx -- +xinerama

  7. #7
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:Dual head setup.

    Ummm, that didn't work at all. It just made both screens go blank, and then on the voodoo monitor I got some D's in the middle of it.
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 1"
    Device "NVIDIA GeForce"
    Monitor "Philips"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "640x400"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "640x400"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "640x400"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 2"
    Device "Voodoo 3"
    Monitor "Mon 2"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout 1"
    Screen "Screen 1"
    Screen "Screen 2" RightOf "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Thats the config I've got. The voodoo is using the tdfx driver and the Geforce is using the nvidia driver. Anything wrong with those?
    Cheers
    CP

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Dual head setup.

    IIRC doesnt the xinerama module need to be loaded too? See if you have that.

  9. #9
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,666

    Re:Dual head setup.

    There isn't the module xinerama, but there is the option. When I enabled the option before all hell broke loose. Neither screen switched on, and on the voodoo monitor I got a few random D's in the middle. From what praetorian said, I assume this is from the Geforce and the Voodoo conflicting. I just did a fresh install last night, and don't have the nvidia drivers installed yet and it works OK. What I'm wondering now is, if I install the drivers its going to f*ck it up again isn't it? Also how can I make it so it stays exactly the way it was, but allowing me to drag windows across. Before there was a background image on each monitor, now I've just got one stretched across the two. Is this just what happens with xinerama? If so is there no other way to do this?
    Cheers
    CP

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:Dual head setup.

    AFAIK there is no way to really have a background on each monitor. Since Xinerama makes both of your screens act as one, the wallpaper is going to span both screens.

    It might be a problem with the different 3D drivers on both screens. I think it's best to run Xinerama with the same video cards powering each monitor so you don't get conflicts like I have. I disabled GLX on the nVidia card last night, and changed my driver from nvidia to nv, so now I've got a working Xinerama setup. I'd like to keep it like this, but I'll have to go back just because I need to run 3D apps.

    The thing about the ServerFlags section is something I got by doing a quick search on Google. Just look for yourself and make sure it's for XFree86 4.x (something I didn't do).

Similar Threads

  1. Dual head options
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 07:57 AM
  2. XF86Config Dual Head
    By by_m3ong in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2004, 02:00 AM
  3. Dual-head on Radeon 9800...
    By Vendetta in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 03:30 AM
  4. XFree 4.3 / Gefore 2 + TNT / Dual Head Q
    By Schotty in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 10:45 PM
  5. Dual hard drive, dual boot?
    By Nekronos in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-19-2003, 12:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •