Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Proxys on dial up...

  1. #1

    Proxys on dial up...

    I got squid setup and the ip range of my college friends setup in squid.. But they are on dial up and under tools-->Internet options-->Connection-->Lan Settings-->Proxy

    It states that proxys are only for on lan and not when on dial up.. How can I have my friend go through my proxy if he is using dial up... On windows of course...

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Proxys on dial up...

    you can have him dialup and route hime thru squid to an ethX connection. I know of people using this for like an ISP type thing. I havent done it -- but I know it can be done.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Proxys on dial up...

    Have you friend dial up on your server and no proxy setting on client side is needed.

    Like Schotty, I haven't done it myself but I know a lot of ISPs do this kind of thing since most of them only do a few local sites with dial up server and connection of fractional-T1s only. So they mostly cache sites ( with proxy server ) and server the web pages through.

  4. #4

    Re:Proxys on dial up...

    Hi compunuts. I don't think I have seen you in a bit.

    Here is the situation.. I am in california and my friend is in oregon at my old school. He is using windows xp and is dialing up to the school's isp. But the school has decided to block any trafic to port 80 but other ports are open like 8080 since my friend was able to see http://pwn3d.us:8080 so what I did is a setup squid with the ip block of the school and my local lan ip range for testing.

    When he goes into explorer and goes to tools-->Internet options-->Connection-->Lan Settings-->Proxy as I mentioned. It states that proxys are only for on lan and not when on dial up..

    I am trying him to access the net through my proxy so he will be able to have access to the net after 11pm. I hope this is clearer...

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Proxys on dial up...

    hmmm

    this makes things a bit more clear -- but interesting at the same time....

    I am gonna have to ponder this one a bit ...

Similar Threads

  1. Dial-up networking
    By eialbur in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2012, 08:50 PM
  2. Dial-up connection
    By rprakash65 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 05:33 PM
  3. help wid dial up connection
    By aman_andromeda in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2007, 09:01 PM
  4. Dial-Up with Mandrake 9.2
    By shebang in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2004, 04:43 AM
  5. Dial-up with Suse 8.1
    By stryder144 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2003, 10:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •