Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
running apps remotely
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: running apps remotely

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    417

    running apps remotely

    hi,

    I know that between 2 linux boxes you can run applications that are installed on one machine from another. $>./someapp &

    how are resources(memory) handled during the session? I would think that the app running box would do all the work and the remote machine is just 'viewing'.

    can anyone elaborate here? is there a way to have the local machine do the work?(assuming my assumption above)

    thanx,

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:running apps remotely

    [quote author=Blaqb0x link=board=4;threadid=6267;start=0#59194 date=1044294499]
    I would think that the app running box would do all the work and the remote machine is just 'viewing'. [/quote]
    Yeap, that's correct.

    is there a way to have the local machine do the work?(assuming my assumption above)
    Why there is a need for local machine to do the work?? I mean, the idea is because you have less powerful machine as client ( usaully a desktop ) and much more powerful machine as server ( usually mid to high-end servers ). If you need to run applications locally, just install a copy of it. If you want to load balance, then look into having cluster or something. Other than that, I don't see why you want to run applications using local resources and having codes locate remotely. There are some ASPs doing exactly what you wanting to do a few years back but never took off due to that having multiple copy of software is much more easier than downloading the application codes every time you use it.

    Just my opinion ....

Similar Threads

  1. Running commands remotely
    By krinkstar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 02:05 AM
  2. Remotely connect to LAN
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 08:08 AM
  3. running remote command, then leave it running
    By Blaqb0x in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2003, 10:36 PM
  4. red Hat version (remotely)
    By elovkoff in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-19-2003, 03:12 PM
  5. sync date remotely
    By -JhAzEr- in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2002, 10:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •