Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
cannot activate my modem in RH 8
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: cannot activate my modem in RH 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    Hi there,

    The wizard is unable to find my modem even though it was
    installed successfuly. I ctype /dev/modem, which I know it ponits to the modem.
    Trying to activate my modem in RH 8, I get this error:
    "cannot activate network device ppp0"

    Any idea?

    Thanks,
    Leila

  2. #2

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    hello,
    try using the setserial command and then ifup ppp, else redhat's modem tool thingy

  3. #3

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    thank you.

    "ifup ppp0" does not finish executing. I stoped it with ctrl+C and I got this message:
    "failed to execute ppp0 with error 32"
    but I see it in the wizard that ppp0 is activated!!
    but still I don't seem to be connected to the internet.
    I don't know whether it is activated or not!!
    do you know what is going on? why ifup ppp0 does not finish executing?
    by the way -- I don't have linuxconf package installed on RH 8
    (but ppp package is instaleed).
    Do you this is a problem?

    Thanks again.


    [quote author=pbharris link=board=4;threadid=6261;start=0#59172 date=1044250798]
    hello,
    try using the setserial command and then ifup ppp, else redhat's modem tool thingy
    [/quote]

  4. #4

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    At the CLI try typing this:
    ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig ppp0 up

    then try connecting to the internet.

    10DED

  5. #5

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    hello,
    did you set your DNS servers in /etc/resolv.conf ?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    If you dont mind, detail what you did to configure the modem. For example I went to RedHat Menu -> Server Settings -> Network and editied the hardware list in the hardware sectuion, and found that if your hardware is actually there (meaning the kernel saw it) it will work if you tell it the correct info.

    For shits and giggles, try this , open up a terminal and type :

    ls -altr /dev/modem

    and see what device it points to ( /dev/modem -> /dev/ttyS0 ) on my PC for example). And try setting the port speed to exxactly what your max modem speed is. And you can try changing your flow control.

  7. #7

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    I did what you said.

    I got the following messgae:
    "ppp0: unknown interface: no such device"!!

    I typed "ifup ppp0" it says that "ppp0 is up, redialing" ..!!!
    Should this mean I am connected?
    I guess not. Why this is different than before that executing
    "ifup ppp0" would not terminate? Is it becuase of
    "ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig ppp0 up"
    ?
    Trying to activate ppp0 using the Internet Connection Wizard,
    fails this time!! How come I could do this before using the wizard??



    [quote author=10Dedfish link=board=4;threadid=6261;start=0#59175 date=1044275421]
    At the CLI try typing this:
    ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig ppp0 up

    then try connecting to the internet.

    10DED
    [/quote]

  8. #8

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    pbharris,

    My /etc/resolv.conf is empty!


    [quote author=pbharris link=board=4;threadid=6261;start=0#59186 date=1044284435]
    hello,
    did you set your DNS servers in /etc/resolv.conf ?
    [/quote]

  9. #9

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    Schotty,

    I used command line. as I remember:
    setserial /dev/modem autoconfig auto_irq
    setserial /dev/modem irq10

    I know linuxconf package is not installed. I checked this by:
    rpm -q linuxconf
    Is this a problem or there is no such package in RH8?

    /dev/modem points to /dev/cua2. I made this link becuase
    my modem is on com3.

    I am very new to linux.
    Any idea what is going on?

    [quote author=Schotty link=board=4;threadid=6261;start=0#59265 date=1044390522]
    If you dont mind, detail what you did to configure the modem. For example I went to RedHat Menu -> Server Settings -> Network and editied the hardware list in the hardware sectuion, and found that if your hardware is actually there (meaning the kernel saw it) it will work if you tell it the correct info.

    For shits and giggles, try this , open up a terminal and type :

    ls -altr /dev/modem

    and see what device it points to ( /dev/modem -> /dev/ttyS0 ) on my PC for example). And try setting the port speed to exxactly what your max modem speed is. And you can try changing your flow control.
    [/quote]

  10. #10

    Re:cannot activate my modem in RH 8

    [quote author=leila link=board=4;threadid=6261;start=0#59322 date=1044434361]
    pbharris,

    My /etc/resolv.conf is empty!
    [/quote]
    Add your isp domain name and ip address to it.

    Here's an example:

    search yourisp.com
    nameserver 208.164.186.1
    nameserver 208.164.186.2

    You may have to use Windows OS to find out what your isp ip numbers are or call and ask your isp for them.

    Also try pointing your /dev/modem to /dev/ttyS2.


Similar Threads

  1. How to activate wlan in ubuntu
    By Bigjge in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 09:23 PM
  2. Oh that 'ol win modem!
    By zonofabee in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 05:30 AM
  3. How to "activate" FTP
    By madreid in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-31-2006, 12:20 AM
  4. DSL Modem
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 05:49 AM
  5. Got a new modem
    By Digital_Froggy in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 05:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •