Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
RH8 & modem lights?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: RH8 & modem lights?

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    36

    RH8 & modem lights?

    RH8
    Modem: USR 56k external (serial)

    I'm trying to get the modem lights app to work. Little display in lower right corner.
    In preferences:
    connect command: /sbin/ifup ppp0
    It connects when I click on it but no action with the lights. Is there something else I need to set up for this app to monitor my connection?
    Thanks

  2. #2

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    hi tlf,
    you may need to use the desktop environment app to have the lights work. e.g. if you are using gnome use the gnome dialer, if you are using kde use the kppp

  3. #3
    Guest

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    I know it has nothing to do on the subject but how bout trying Tleds this app displays network flow by blinking your keyboard LEDs. Try it out you may just like it.

  4. #4
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    36

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    I know this is going to sound retarded but how do I get to the gnome dialer? ??? I've looked for it.
    I went through the INTERNET CONFIGURATION WIZARD and it set up my connection. I open NETWORK DEVICE CONTROL and hit ACTIVATE to connect to the internet now.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    Right click on your gnome panel -> goto "Add to Panel" -> "Inetrnet" -> "Modem Lights".

    Then right click on it and goto preferences.

    On the first page it brings up, note the correct way to satrt and stop the dialup connection. If you used the Redhat network device control center, ifup ppp0 is the correct startup command. Also not the last option, of show correct time and colors.

    If you have it working right, you should have a throughput meter, a connection duration, throughput graph, a transmit and recieve light each, and a connect disconnect button.

  6. #6
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    36

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    Right click on your gnome panel -> goto "Add to Panel" -> "Inetrnet" -> "Modem Lights".

    Then right click on it and goto preferences.

    Did that.
    On the first page it brings up, note the correct way to satrt and stop the dialup connection. If you used the Redhat network device control center, ifup ppp0 is the correct startup command.
    Did that but ifup ppp0 did not work.
    /sbin/ifup ppp0 works. meaning it dials and connects.
    Yes I am using network device control center. It's the only way I see to set it up.
    Show connect time and throughput is checked.
    What's with the modem lock on the advanced tab?

    It connects but modem lights do not respond.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    hmm, you may have some odd permissions. Lemme check ...

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    36

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    Success!
    I found kppp. I set up my connection with kppp. Modem lights are working.
    Thanks to everyone for all you help. ;D

  9. #9

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    Hi All,

    Sorry to jump in so late in the discussion, but I have a similar problem getting the Gnome modem lights to work. I am using RH 8 and connect with the "/sbin/ifup ppp0" command. Well actually, I type "connect", but have that aliased in my .bashrc file to "/sbin/ifup ppp0. Since my RH 8 box uses an internal modem (yeah, I know I normally use externals but anyway..) I really miss my little "blinkin' lights" on this box. What is this kppp thing and will messing with it be likely to hose my modem?

    I use the Gnome desktop, not KDE, and kppp sounds like a KDE thing. Can it be accessed from Gnome? Sorry for the dumb questions.

    Jim

  10. #10

    Re:RH8 & modem lights?

    in this months linux journal there is a question like this in best of tech support - i'll have a ooky when i get home, in the meantime i am sure you can find it online.

    okay - ican't find it online - here is the straight dope from it

    Q: 'I can't disconnect modem using appelt modem lights'
    A: 'default set up is messed up, click preferences for modem applet light, select advanced, then set modem lock file to coorect one - try /var/laock/LCK..modem


Similar Threads

  1. DSL Modem
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 05:49 AM
  2. All the sudden lights were flashing!!!
    By Rastar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2002, 12:56 AM
  3. Got a new modem
    By Digital_Froggy in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 05:31 AM
  4. I put up our Christmas lights today.
    By pbharris in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-24-2001, 05:46 PM
  5. Lights are on and nobody's home
    By johnqpublic in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-19-2001, 09:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •