Thread: Boredom

Boredom

Alright... I don't know if this is the correct forum, but it's "Off Topic" so this should be safe. I figure since I am new I'll tell the interested ones a little bit about myself. (Saw this in another forum, thought it was a good idea)

Okay, my name is Tim and I am a college student (major in Computer Information Systems) in NJ. I work at an insurance agency doing server side applications in PHP using MSSQL (ick) /MySQL (yay) and supporting the 35 some Windows 98/XP users there.

I started using Linux when Red Hat 6 was new (I was on 5.2) but I didn't use it everyday or anything since most of the stuff I did was in Windows. For the last past 7 months or so it has been full time RH (7.x - 8.0) and I have sucked up an enormous amount of information (not really, but well pretend). I am a fairly accomplished user bent on converting Windows users to Linux users and will stop at nothing... wait wrong speech.

Right now I have about 8 months left until I get my associates degree and I am also going to have several other pieces of paper such as the A+ (pretty much ready), Network+ (at least half way there), LPI certs (half way), CCNA (half way) and some other stuff (hopefully the new MySQL cert when it's out)

I guess that's enough for now, any questions are welcome.

Below you can see my unofficial resume in all its glory which contains a list of all my programming/computer skills.

http://www.rapturepress.com/RPTim/Tim/resume.htm

Re:Boredom

Linux/UnixIntermediateNever1 years

How can you be skilled in something when you say you never used it..

Might want to correct that one man..

I hope you have better luck with your Associate's than I did. The computer market is flooded with potential employees right now. I couldn't find any Unix jobs requiring less than a Bachelor's degree. (And yes, I did apply to them just in case they could bend a little. They didn't.) That's why I switched to chemistry.