Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962
DOOM 3 GOES GOLD!!!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: DOOM 3 GOES GOLD!!!!

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    114
    I really didn't expect it to be released for Linux at all so even a lonely distant download corner will do. The HW upgrade kinda frightens me tho...

    But I'll be back in school (read: rich) in no time so I guess it's time to upgrade this baby to 21st century.

  2. #12
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    orlando
    Posts
    608
    Quote Originally Posted by ZennouRyuu
    maccorin?? Using Closed Source Software???:shock:

    Maybe I should hang on to my soul, I may be needing it shortly..... ***Gulp***
    lol... i believe i said "maybe", but in all reality, i probably won't

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    www.doom3.com finally took an update today with some nice screenshots and a video for you to drool over.

  4. #14
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Do you guys reckon that an Athlon XP 2000+ will suffice? I know I have to get a better video card (or at least one that can render OpenGL under Linux), for it to work. Sounds exciting nonetheless!
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    The mimimums are in:

    A 1.5-gigahertz Intel Pentium 4 chip or AMD Athlon 1500.
    384 megabytes of memory.
    Two gigabytes of hard drive space.
    An nVidia GeForce 3 graphics card or better; or an ATI Technologies 8500 or better.

    The numbers arent back from NASA on the recommended

    Betting starts here:

    My Vote:
    Gig of RAM
    256MB GFX Card (AGP8X)
    2.4Ghz + CPU

  6. #16
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    So I should be fine then. I just need to get a little more memory, and a better graphics card, and then I'll be able to play the hottest pc game around. Sweet! Will it work natively under linux? Because the games that I play under Linux I use WINE.
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  7. #17
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    HardOCP has some numbers for Doom3, its worth checking out. It looks you won't need to sell your soul after all to play Doom3 with fair quality.

    http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQy

    For top of the line gaming, however, you might want to start checking out soul brokers to get as much as you can, cause it won't be cheap.

    No Linux version in sight tho....
    jro - http://jeff.robbins.ws
    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  8. #18
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    To tell everyone the truth here, I run my games at 640x480, pretty much, all the time. I find that the higher resolutions make everything look a little more "blocky". Plus, I think that 640x480 will always allow smoooooooth frames!
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  9. #19
    Mentor jro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    ouch, 640x480, you might as well just break out the old Atari, it might look better. Then again, with my current machine I can only run 8x6 on most games, tho I would like to run higher, if I had the power, but alas, no...
    jro - http://jeff.robbins.ws
    Linux counter#:213782
    GnuPG ID: 406238E7

  10. #20
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    33
    yes... the CEO of id (dont remember his name ATM...) confirmed that linux binaries will be available shortly after the games release

Similar Threads

  1. Doom 3
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-18-2005, 06:20 PM
  2. my doom
    By pbharris in forum General Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 11:39 PM
  3. Unreal Gold + RedHat 9
    By Schotty in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-13-2003, 06:15 PM
  4. This was pure gold
    By BurntAsh in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-08-2002, 08:49 PM
  5. Doom 3
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-12-2002, 04:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •