Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39

Thread: SETI@home group!

  1. #21

    Re:SETI@home group!

    i just noticed something mildly funny while browsing the SETI groups:


    27) Linux9172300551 3035.275 years11 hr 33 min 27.6 sec
    28) Microsoft123722925102680.530 years10 hr 14 min 33.6 sec

  2. #22
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:SETI@home group!

    I have set a couple machines loose crunching for seti again
    My Athlon XP 2400+ w/ 256 meg ddr ram and dads PIII 866 w/ 256 megs sdram.
    Guess which machine goes faster?
    My athlonxp has done three units and dads box is still at 20 % on it's first.. Granted, his box is running Windows....

    But it's nice to be back in the swing of things.
    Now, once I write that script to install seti on all the machines at school, my numbers may top yours by phenomenal amounts

  3. #23

    Re:SETI@home group!

    did you ever read that part about "don't install on machines you don't own" or something like that..
    P.S.
    what are they running?

  4. #24

    Re:SETI@home group!

    Has anyone here use the screensaver ??? ??? also where can I get it ??? ???

    TIA
    Michael

  5. #25

    Re:SETI@home group!

    hehehe I just run it on tty1 on a headless box...
    http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/download.html
    Screensaver is for windows, you configure it as such...

  6. #26

    Re:SETI@home group!

    woohoo i'm now on the team how many here still use seti and how long do you leave it on for ???

  7. #27

    Re:SETI@home group!

    I use it and I leave it 24/7...

  8. #28

    Re:SETI@home group!

    [quote author=countach44 link=board=22;threadid=6094;start=0#msg77453 date=1074997750]
    I use it and I leave it 24/7...
    [/quote]

    me too

  9. #29

    Re:SETI@home group!

    Actually, I start it on tty1, I'm wondering, what would my inittab look like if I wanted it to run in place of agetty on tty6?
    P.S.
    I made a script that runs it from within the directory, /sbin/seti

  10. #30
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:SETI@home group!

    Here is a few year old post I have here :

    I am in a good mood this morning (which is to change abruptly, when I goto work)

    Here is my way of automating CLI mode software. I will demo GAH and Audiogalaxy.

    First we start the software up at boot time. I use a script to load it a specific way here. I tell /etc/inittab to load it and dump the output to ttys 10,11,12

    Code:
    # Audiogalaxy Startup
    10:2345:once:/audiogalaxy/init >/dev/tty10
    
    # Genome@Home Client software
    11:2345:once:/gah/ghc1/init >/dev/tty11
    12:2345:once:/gah/ghc2/init >/dev/tty12
    Next we do the actual scripts.

    Audioglaxy
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    cd /audiogalaxy
    ./AGSatellite-static 64.245.58.81 21
    GAH
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    cd /gah/ghc1
    ./ghclient.x
    Simple eh?

Similar Threads

  1. Joined Seti@Home group.
    By shebang in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 02:37 AM
  2. What's up with the SETI group?
    By Kernel_Killer in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-30-2002, 09:24 PM
  3. Another seti@home member
    By Black666 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2002, 07:32 PM
  4. Joined!! seti@home
    By LearninLinux in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2002, 11:23 PM
  5. seti@home
    By agar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2002, 12:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •