Thread: GCC Stack Protecting Patch

GCC Stack Protecting Patch

I added a PET for IBM's Stack Protection Patch. It's simple, but those who have never patched GCC before can benifit.

Re:GCC Stack Protecting Patch

Are you able to explain what this does please? I don't have the faintest clue

okay here goes nothing, remember I'm not a hardcore programmer, but:

In Asm, fx you can get a creeping stack problem when you push variables onto the stack and forget to pop them off or otherwise adjust the stack pointer correctly.

kinda like this.

push two words (2 x one byte is a word) before a funktion call, then when you return you in your mindlessness only add 2 to the stack pointer (the stack pointer can single out one byte, but we can only push a word, thus adding 2 bytes to the stack pointer is making up for spending one word in the function - as you might have noticed the stack pointer unlike anything else (AFAIK) in memory goes top to buttom). Thus next time you call upon this function you will slowly but surely eat up all your stack space... neat right?

Okay, that was quite simple, overflow attacks are as I understand it an attempt at finding bits of bad code that allow for a creeping stack problem.

At least this is part of what my CPU design lectures are all about, coding good asm, to avoid these nasty stack problems.

There's a text file that explains at bit about stack smashing...
    http://destroy.net/machines/security/P49-14-Aleph-One
    and even more info therehttp://destroy.net/machines/security/
    But I've only quick read these articles for about 5 secs

BTW. while I'm at it, OpenBSD has just make the GCC stack smashing protector patch a part of their default compiler, so it has been blessed by the security nuts, thus it must be good right?