Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

  1. #1

    how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    I was just wondering because with lycoris, mandrake and others i'vre tried they all saw the windows partions in the /mnt/hda/ directory... and how do you get it to see the partition if possible.
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    858

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    Chances are, the drive just isn't being mounted. if you have a folder /mnt/hda you can mount it manually with the "mount" command, or, to make it easier you can add it to your /etc/fstab file. For example, here's the line for my win partition in my /etc/fstab file. This mounts the fat32 partition at /dev/hda1 to /mnt/fat-c

    /dev/hda1 /mnt/fat-c vfat defaults 0 0

    with this in my fstab i can just run "moutn /mnt/fat-c" to mount it in that place, if you want it mounted at boot time, I believe it will be if you change the last 0 to a 1.

  3. #3

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    [quote author=PK link=board=2;threadid=5803;start=0#55294 date=1039327861]
    Chances are, the drive just isn't being mounted. if you have a folder /mnt/hda you can mount it manually with the "mount" command, or, to make it easier you can add it to your /etc/fstab file. For example, here's the line for my win partition in my /etc/fstab file. This mounts the fat32 partition at /dev/hda1 to /mnt/fat-c

    /dev/hda1 /mnt/fat-c vfat defaults 0 0

    with this in my fstab i can just run "moutn /mnt/fat-c" to mount it in that place, if you want it mounted at boot time, I believe it will be if you change the last 0 to a 1.
    [/quote]
    When I type the command in super user mode in the teminal it says permission denied. How can that be?

  4. #4
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    858

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    I haven't a clue :-\ but hopefully someone else will know.

  5. #5

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    I just noticed that i do not have a /mnt/fstab directory at all.

  6. #6
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    858

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    [quote author=Mantis166 link=board=2;threadid=5803;start=0#55302 date=1039329563]
    I just noticed that i do not have a /mnt/fstab directory at all.
    [/quote]

    You shouldn't have a /mnt/fstab file, you should have an /etc/fstab file. /mnt is generally used for mounting things (floppy's CD's, filesystems etc). /etc is configuration files. Your fstab (/etc/fstab) is kinda like the config file for the mounting of filesystems. If you don't have an /etc/fstab file, then redhat probably has some different configuration that I'm unaware of (i'm not a RH user).

  7. #7

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    I rebooted by computer and it finally let me write to the fstab file, so i did with
    "/dev/hda1 /mnt/fat-c vfat defaults 0 1" and after i typed mount /mnt/fat-c and it says
    "can't find /mnt/fat-c in /ect/fstab or ect/mtab
    what do i do with the mtab file?

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    14

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    You don't need to do anything wih the /etc/mtab file. This file just keeps a running tab on which filesystems (partitions) are already mounted on your system, and does not require any user intervention. It's probably not a good idea to try and edit the /etc/mtab file !!

    To mount a partition, a "mountpoint" has to be exist for a partition to be mounted at. So, when you type
    mount /mnt/fat-c
    you should first be sure that "/mnt/fat-c" exists in your directory structure. (To check whether the mountpoint exists, at a terminal or console, type "ls /mnt". The output from this command should include "fat-c". If it does not, you need to create it - type "mkdir /mnt/fat-c&quot

    If you perform the checks in the previous paragraph, and it checks out, but you still get an error when you type "mount /mnt/fat-c", then the problem is likely that you have an incorrect/incomplete entry in your /etc/fstab file. By the way, when you added that entry in your /etc/fstab file, it should automatically mount at boot.

    Write back if you're still having problems.

  9. #9

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    thanks so much! i've been trying things for a week.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:how come in rh8.0 i cannot "see" my windows partitions?

    good tip Mikie!

    Yeah, one needs several things to make a mount work

    1) Proper source
    2) Know the FS type. IE. fat32, ext3, reiserfs ...
    3) Existing mountpoint.
    4) Superuser access (or, root)

    With those one can mount any fs to a mount point. And this holds true to every UNIX flavor I have touched.

Similar Threads

  1. "MicroHat" "SoftRed"
    By Fatal Error in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 09:03 PM
  2. "groupadd" and "tree" utilities are nowhere??
    By aromes in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2003, 03:50 AM
  3. error installing packages "krb5-libs" ; AND NVIDIA troubles
    By SaTaNcLaUz in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-14-2002, 09:26 PM
  4. Xandros Linux: "It just works," even with Windows stuff
    By trickster in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2002, 02:06 AM
  5. Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    By ph34r in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2001, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •