Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    I use this to get sound working in Slack, but it seems that everytime I reboot I have to run it again :-/ not too keen on that... How can I get it to run each time I start my machine?

  2. #2

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    add that line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

  3. #3
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    Doesn't Slack have /etc/modules? I've been off Slack for 2 weeks and I already forgot.

  5. #5
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    It does, but I don't know what to put in there :/

    Heres what it already has:
    Code:
    alias char-major-195 NVdriver
    alias /dev/ttySHCF[0-9]* hcfpciserial
    alias char-major-240 hcfpciserial
    alias /dev/cuaHCF[0-9]* hcfpciserial
    alias char-major-241 hcfpciserial
    alias /dev/modem hcfpciserial
    options hcfpciserial serialmajor=240 calloutmajor=241 pcivendorid=0x14F1 pcideviceid=0x1036

  6. #6
    Guest

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    likely something like:

    alias snd-<module>

    now the <module> part will be the main module and possibly one other module that will need to be probed in to get all of your snd devices listed in lsmod. for me i also have snd-pcm-oss being loaded and that brings the rest of the sounds modules i need with it. however, i do not have the same sound card as you so it may not be necessary.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    Just add emu10k1 to /etc/modules. It should modprobe it on startup.

  8. #8
    Associate
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    32

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    If I'm not mistaken the "slackware" way would be to uncomment the line /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 in /etc/rc.modules the module loading init script that gets run at boot time.

  9. #9

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    Close Tully.
    The file is /etc/rc.d/rc.modules
    You just need to uncomment the line that says /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 in that file like Tully said.

    Aren't BSD init scripts easy.

  10. #10
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:does /sbin/modprobe emu10k1 always need to be run?

    Thanks guys!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 07:54 AM
  2. modprobe: can't locate module scsi_hostadapter
    By x in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2003, 03:16 PM
  3. kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe
    By SunDevil in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2002, 10:03 AM
  4. emu10k1 mixer problems
    By Mor_gath in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 12:45 PM
  5. I forgot to do a /sbin/lilo after kernel compile!
    By digitalzero in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2001, 12:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •