Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
dual home RH linux
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dual home RH linux

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    417

    dual home RH linux

    Hi,

    I have an RH 7.3 box that was using 1 NIC. It worked fine.

    I added another NIC set the IP configuration for a different C subnet. It loads on boot as eth1 and everything looks fine. However, all traffic to the subnet that eth1 is configured for is unreachable.

    No firewall
    all other IP's are reachable

    When I boot it up in Windows it works fine, so the nic is functioning.

    Is there anything else I can try.

  2. #2

    Re:dual home RH linux

    im not sure, being a newbie myself, but i think you have to edit your config and give your first nic, ie eth1 an ip address, and your second nic, ie eth02 and seperate address. I will look arouind but i think its under Network Config (NEAT).
    10Ded

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    417

    Re:dual home RH linux

    both nics eth0 eth1 have seperate IP configs on seperate subnets. So in theory the can work independently.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    472

    Re:dual home RH linux

    What's your routing table look like?
    Code:
    id10t@id10t:~$ /sbin/route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    216.155.96.9    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
    192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth1
    127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
    0.0.0.0         216.155.96.9    0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ppp0
    id10t@id10t:~$
    is what you are looking for. Otherwise use route to add a new route to that particular subnet.

  5. #5

    Re:dual home RH linux

    Can you ping from one nic to the other? That may give you some indication as to where to start looking. Also, you may have to add the other nic to your lmhosts file, if it does not have the same name and is on a different subnet.
    10Ded

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:dual home RH linux

    You need to enable NAT and Masquarding. There are some PETs for it.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual booting W2K and Linux
    By peter in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 02:58 AM
  2. Linux/Win XP Dual boot
    By irishsquid in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 07:58 AM
  3. Dual boot on Linux
    By montejr in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2003, 06:48 PM
  4. Dual Linux system how to?
    By Rastar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-03-2002, 01:56 AM
  5. Dual Boot: Linux and Win ME, Please help
    By uma in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2002, 05:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •