Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unable to access websites

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Unable to access websites

    Alrighty then, people...have I got an interesting question for you!

    I have just finished loading Debian 3.0 w/ a kernel version 2.4.16 (I really hated the messed up way that Lindows included kde 2.x and 3.x stuff on it). I am running xfce 3.16 as my wm. I want to eventually add kde 3.0.4. Soooo...I fire up kppp (version 2.2.2-14 along with ppp 2.4.1.uus-4). I log onto my ISP. Then, I fire up mozilla 0.9.9-6. It can't access any websites. None. Nada. Zip.

    My question is this...what must I do to allow mozilla and everything else that I want to access the net properly. I am desperate. I am using my spare Win98 box (shudders). Please help me!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:Unable to access websites

    Do you have your ISP's DNS server listed in /etc/resolv.conf?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Unable to access websites

    DNS servers are public servers so it doesn't matter which DNS server you use as long as your system is reachable via IP. So ping some IP addresses and if the response is okay, then ping host names. If it's NOT okay, then it's your DNS that you need to check.

    Here are some IP and host names that to get you started.

    ns1.attbi.com 204.127.198.4
    ns2.attbi.com 216.148.227.68

    HTH ....

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Unable to access websites

    I will check out the /etc/resolv.conf file when I get home from work. Not to sound too ignorant, but how do you ping an address? I have heard about it, but have never needed to, so I just ignored it.

    Could it be possible that I might have configured things wrong? On install, Debian asked for some ip addresses for the network. Could these numbers be messing things up? I think that I will have to mess around a bit (maybe even reinstall everything, since it just takes a few minutes anyway) and see if that is the case.

    Thanks.

    [edit]Never mind the ping question. I just read up on how to use ping. I guess all I can say is, DUH! Thanks guys, I'll play with the whole ping thing later.[/edit]

  5. #5
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    858

    Re:Unable to access websites

    I had similar problems under LFS, it was my resolv.conf file didn't have a nameserver in it.

    The numbers debian asked for during install could be what's messing it up, but these should be easy to change without reinstalling. They are all in text files, the trick is finding them.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Unable to access websites

    Knoppix to the rescue! I rebooted the computer and loaded up Knoppix. Then, in a fit of genius, I checked resolv.conf. Then, I logged onto the internet, checked resolv.conf again, jotted down the numbers and terminated the connection. Next, I rechecked resolv.conf (it was the same as the first time I checked it). I logged onto the internet again and rechecked resolv. It had the same ip addresses as it had the first time I logged on. Soooo...now I know what addresses to use. I just need to wait until I get off of work so that I can fidget around with the ip addresses of the nameserver and see if I can finally log on and access everything. Yeah for knoppix!

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Unable to access websites

    Ok, here's a quick update...I inserted the nameserver ip addresses that I found via Knoppix...so...I am now surfing the net! w00t! Worked like a charm. Of course, I reinstalled Debian (again) just for the fun of it. So, I'm posting this while running window maker. Nice. Daddy-o likes!

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. unable to access internet on RHEL
    By sed_addictive in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 02:14 PM
  2. Unable to access remote machine after network upgrade
    By n.dave in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 05:36 AM
  3. TROUBLESHOOT: "Unable to open initial console"...PC UNABLE TO BOOT IN LINUX
    By sandeepundale in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2006, 08:30 PM
  4. Unable to Access Hotmail
    By trickster in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-31-2004, 07:50 PM
  5. unable to access the internet
    By saha in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 07:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •