Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me please. - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me please.

  1. #21
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    When I start drakconnect, I get a sort of "configuration wizard", but I don't know what to choose ... I tried a few things (I forgot what :), and I haven't seen anywere "PPPoE" ... maybe I made something wrong .
    Can you help me ????
    Thanks a lot for your help .
    Bye, and see you later.


  2. #22

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    http://mdkxp.by-a.com/htm/tutorials/autodsl.php

    Did this help at all? Thing is Ive never seen an internet connection using PPPoE except DSL. Hmmm......

    Try this: GUI config for it:
    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/tkpppoe/
    and download here:
    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/...3.5-1.i386.rpm

    Looks simple enough to follow, i would think it would work fine

  3. #23
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    [quote author=rick420 link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#54418 date=1038249145]
    http://mdkxp.by-a.com/htm/tutorials/autodsl.php

    Did this help at all? Thing is Ive never seen an internet connection using PPPoE except DSL. Hmmm......

    Try this: GUI config for it:
    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/tkpppoe/
    and download here:
    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/...3.5-1.i386.rpm

    Looks simple enough to follow, i would think it would work fine
    [/quote]
    The first link that you gave looks a lot to whats in the documentation that came with the old package I got from my ISP, and which didn't work ... But I'll try this doc .
    Also, I don't understand, the 2 other link are the only one that I need to download and install, or is there a special thing to download also. Is it the "full program", or just the GUI ?????
    Thanks a lot for your help .
    Bye, and see you later.


  4. #24

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    from what i gather in the earlier posts pppoe is already installed, the gui is a front end for this and won't install unless the 'engine' is there.

  5. #25

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    Just install that gui, its just a GUI for the rp-ppoe rpm u have. This way you have a nice gui screen to do all your configuring. In there just plug in the info you need and you should be set.

    Good luck!

  6. #26
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    Ok, thanks a lot ! I'll try this, and tell you if it works as soon as possible.
    Also, if it doesn't work, does this could work ?????:
    [quote author=trickster link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53641 date=1037107253]
    If that does not work, you can try this (is the way I got my PPPoE to connect Basically, a rewording of the stuff on Roaring Penguin's site.)

    1. Check to see if your ethernet adapter is recognized by Mandrake (probably si, but just to make sure.) From a terminal, type ifconfig eth0. If it is, it should return some info.
    2. Make sure Mandrake is not bringing up eth0 on bootup. I am not sure how to do this on Mandrake, since I use Slackware. But basically, is to make sure that you get the module loaded for eth0 (that the system recognizes your network card) but that it doesn't try to assign it an IP either by DHCP or static.
    3. Download this source for RP-PPPoE (is a much newer one than the one you have on the cd.) http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz
    4. From a terminal, browse to the folder where you downloaded the file to. on it, type tar -zxvf rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz. This will decompress the file.
    5. Type cd rp-pppoe-3.5. This will get you into the directory with the source code.
    6. If you are using a terminal from inside X-windows KDE, Gnome, etc.) type ./go-gui. This will start to compile the software and bring up a nice graphical user interface for the settings.
    If you are running from a real terminal (not under X), type ./go. This will start to compile and bring up a series of questions to set up your settings.

    You might find this helpful for troubleshooting.: http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/how-to-connect.txt
    Hope that helps.

    Oh, they do mention PPPoE in here: http://www.cablewanadoo.com/portail/technique/pg_02.htm
    [/quote]
    Thanks a lot for all your help everybody .
    Bye, and see you later.


  7. #27

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    It used to work for me.

  8. #28

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    Since nothing seems to work, I might as well ask the obvious: Are you manually starting your connection when you're finished configuration? For pppoe you have to start things yourself. Usually it's something like "adsl-start" or "start ppp" or "start-pppoe". The exact command will be detailed in whatever connection program you're using. Run it as root.

    Also, let's make sure your NIC is working. As root user, type "ifconfig" and let us know what it says.

  9. #29
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    [quote author=trickster link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53641 date=1037107253]
    I'd say try PBHarris advise first. If that does not work, you can try this (is the way I got my PPPoE to connect Basically, a rewording of the stuff on Roaring Penguin's site.)

    1. Check to see if your ethernet adapter is recognized by Mandrake (probably si, but just to make sure.) From a terminal, type ifconfig eth0. If it is, it should return some info.
    2. Make sure Mandrake is not bringing up eth0 on bootup. I am not sure how to do this on Mandrake, since I use Slackware. But basically, is to make sure that you get the module loaded for eth0 (that the system recognizes your network card) but that it doesn't try to assign it an IP either by DHCP or static.
    3. Download this source for RP-PPPoE (is a much newer one than the one you have on the cd.) http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz
    4. From a terminal, browse to the folder where you downloaded the file to. on it, type tar -zxvf rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz. This will decompress the file.
    5. Type cd rp-pppoe-3.5. This will get you into the directory with the source code.
    6. If you are using a terminal from inside X-windows KDE, Gnome, etc.) type ./go-gui. This will start to compile the software and bring up a nice graphical user interface for the settings.
    If you are running from a real terminal (not under X), type ./go. This will start to compile and bring up a series of questions to set up your settings.

    You might find this helpful for troubleshooting.: http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/how-to-connect.txt
    Hope that helps.

    Oh, they do mention PPPoE in here: http://www.cablewanadoo.com/portail/technique/pg_02.htm
    [/quote]
    It works !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thanks a lot for your help guys !
    I'm soooo happy about that !
    I just have another question:
    Now that I chosen the option so the "non-root users" can also connect to the internet, I would like to know how can I connect to the Internet, without "recompiling" everything (sorry for the "little bit stupid question&quot???? I there a kind of GUI that I can use???? How can I create a shotcut to that GUI???
    Thanks a lot for your help .
    Bye, and see you later.


    P.s.: I would like to say that I'm really sorry for not writting these days ... I had a lot of work ... sorry ... please don't take it bad.
    Thanks again .
    Bye.


  10. #30

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    Try typing adsl-start, or rp-pppoe, from a terminal. If that works, then right-click on your desktop, select New>Link to an application. On the path, type the command that worked.

Similar Threads

  1. Still have network with PC and linux server through router without internet access?
    By Galileo in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2012, 05:54 PM
  2. How to access the internet
    By Steeljack in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 10:26 PM
  3. Trouble Getting Cable Internet To Work in Linux.
    By xin in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2002, 06:20 AM
  4. Slow internet- Linksys Router Sharing Cable
    By microwiz2 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2002, 05:07 PM
  5. Cable internet cant access
    By Brezer in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 01:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •