Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me please.

  1. #11

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    PPPoE is Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet... an example would be AOL Broadband Cable...

    If you "log in" to your broadband connection using a username and password it is a PPPoE connection.

    If you are "always on, always connected" you should be able to surf just using dhcp.

  2. #12

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    hello,
    i would think you can open drakconnect in a console. if not let us know.

  3. #13
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    [quote author=Schotty link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53522 date=1036943667]
    Have you setup your NIC for DHCP at all?
    [/quote]
    I don't think so.
    [quote author=pbharris link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53540 date=1036961644]
    hello,
    i would think you can open drakconnect in a console. if not let us know.
    [/quote]
    I tried to type in a console : drakconnect ... and it didn't worked. Why ???? Is that normal ????
    [quote author=I'm A Penguin link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53533 date=1036956622]
    PPPoE is Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet... an example would be AOL Broadband Cable...

    If you "log in" to your broadband connection using a username and password it is a PPPoE connection.

    If you are "always on, always connected" you should be able to surf just using dhcp.
    [/quote]
    Yes, I use a login, and a password to access the Internet.
    Can you help me ????
    Thanks a lot for your help .
    Bye, and see you later.





  4. #14

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    Hi,

    Usually, DSL uses the PPPoE protocol, and cable uses DHCP. However, I don't think this is a rule. If you need PPPoE, you can go here and get this client for it.

    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/
    They have pretty good documentation on their website.

    Is this the service you use?

    http://www.cablewanadoo.com/

    They do mention PPPoE on their website. (What litttle french I know is rusty....)

  5. #15
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    [quote author=trickster link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53613 date=1037053076]
    Hi,

    Usually, DSL uses the PPPoE protocol, and cable uses DHCP. However, I don't think this is a rule. If you need PPPoE, you can go here and get this client for it.

    http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/
    They have pretty good documentation on their website.[/quote]
    Thats what is on the CD that I got from my ISP, but I tried to get it work ... and it didn't worked ... I'm sure that I made something wrong, but I don't know what .
    [quote author=trickster link=board=1;threadid=5556;start=0#53613 date=1037053076]
    Is this the service you use?

    http://www.cablewanadoo.com/

    They do mention PPPoE on their website. (What litttle french I know is rusty....)
    [/quote]
    Yes, thats what I use, here is exactly what I use : http://www.cablewanadoo.com/portail/pg_intro.htm.
    They probably don't mention PPPoE on their website, because it's more advertisement stuff that is there.
    But I'm sure that I need PPPoE, because under Win98, the CD of my ISP installs the "PPPoE Driver".
    Otherwise, can you answer the other questions that are in my previous post please :??
    Thanks a lot for your help .
    Bye, and see you later.



  6. #16

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    okay - open a terminal and type drak<tab> that is the word drak followed by hitting the tab key- see if anythnling like drakconnect is there, else look for it in the menus, it is possible it did not get installed, if so install it

  7. #17

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    I'd say try PBHarris advise first. If that does not work, you can try this (is the way I got my PPPoE to connect Basically, a rewording of the stuff on Roaring Penguin's site.)

    1. Check to see if your ethernet adapter is recognized by Mandrake (probably si, but just to make sure.) From a terminal, type ifconfig eth0. If it is, it should return some info.
    2. Make sure Mandrake is not bringing up eth0 on bootup. I am not sure how to do this on Mandrake, since I use Slackware. But basically, is to make sure that you get the module loaded for eth0 (that the system recognizes your network card) but that it doesn't try to assign it an IP either by DHCP or static.
    3. Download this source for RP-PPPoE (is a much newer one than the one you have on the cd.) http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz
    4. From a terminal, browse to the folder where you downloaded the file to. on it, type tar -zxvf rp-pppoe-3.5.tar.gz. This will decompress the file.
    5. Type cd rp-pppoe-3.5. This will get you into the directory with the source code.
    6. If you are using a terminal from inside X-windows KDE, Gnome, etc.) type ./go-gui. This will start to compile the software and bring up a nice graphical user interface for the settings.
    If you are running from a real terminal (not under X), type ./go. This will start to compile and bring up a series of questions to set up your settings.

    You might find this helpful for troubleshooting.: http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/how-to-connect.txt
    Hope that helps.

    Oh, they do mention PPPoE in here: http://www.cablewanadoo.com/portail/technique/pg_02.htm

  8. #18

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    http://mdkxp.by-a.com/htm/tutorials/autodsl.php

    I know its for DSL, but minus the numbers and such, should be very similar

  9. #19
    Associate
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    First of all, I would like to say that I'm really sorry for not answering before ... I was very busy these days ... don't think that I've "gived up".
    Also, I would like to thank you all for all your help .
    Then, now that i've managed to launch drakconnect, I would like to know what must I do. Can you help me ????
    Thanks a lot for all the help that you can give .
    Bye, and see you later.


  10. #20

    Re:how can I access Internet with the cable and Linux Mandrake 9.0. Help me plea

    hello,
    does drkaconnect give any options or try to walk you through?

Similar Threads

  1. Still have network with PC and linux server through router without internet access?
    By Galileo in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2012, 05:54 PM
  2. How to access the internet
    By Steeljack in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 10:26 PM
  3. Trouble Getting Cable Internet To Work in Linux.
    By xin in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2002, 06:20 AM
  4. Slow internet- Linksys Router Sharing Cable
    By microwiz2 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2002, 05:07 PM
  5. Cable internet cant access
    By Brezer in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 01:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •