Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can't install RH 8.0

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    394

    Can't install RH 8.0

    Install hoses up when I am installing packages.. But, I can switch to command line, so the system itself isnt hosing up. It happens both on text install and graphical install...

    I get a error from ananconda about gnome canvas failing.. But, it doesnt lock up on the same package everytime and I checked the cd and it passed the test.

    Any ideas? I checked and made sure my partitions are correctly sized and I can install Windows XP just fine. So, I dont think it is a stability issue because of heat or anything.

    I am seriously puzzled though.. I can install debian with my eyes closed but I cant install Red Hat .. How sad is that? ;D

  2. #2

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    pretty darn sad my friend!! anywho, one thing i know has helped is passing nodma to the kernel at install time, not sure why this would be happeninng though.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    394

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    Thanks for the suggestion Paul.. Would mem=nodma be the right syntax to pass that at install time? I'm not a grub guy ;D

    I also read where RH 8.0 locks up w/ USB devices so I am going to unplug all my USB stuff and reset my bios to default settings to see if that helps.

    Anyone else have any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    hmmm, bad cd?

    bad md5sum?

    dirty cdrom?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    394

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    It was a purchased cd and I ran that cdrom test that comes with Redhat 8.0 and it passed :-\

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    Wow! A RedHAt boxset that fails! Now that is weird.

    I would try for shits and giggles, cleaning the CD drive. I am at a loss. Is there an error that is consistent throughout each failure? I know you said it hated the RPM, but anything more specific?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    394

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    I get that anaconda error about the gnome canvas saying it failed.. No other errors and I dont even get that one every time (at least I dont think).

    It always locks up on the install screen, no other place and it will lock up on different packages not the same one so I am clueless.

    Anaconda doesnt run in text mode right?

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    If I understand correctly, Anaconda is a daemon that detects your hardware and tracks changes in it. So then I would presume that yes it runs in text mode. It should launch each time at bootup to detect any hardware changes on an installed system.

  9. #9

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    I feel your pain.

    I have both the .ISOs and the store bought CDs for RH 8 and both fail to install on an number of boxes that I got 7.3 to install on. The error I am getting is with packages installing. The error I get is that my media is bad, though all CDs pass the media tests.

    How did I fix this. I installed SuSE 8 from their ftp server. It installed like and runs like a dream.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Can't install RH 8.0

    I dont know what the problem is -- but I got it to install on 2 boxes -- my home box and my work box. Flawless each time.... well until I put VMWare on it.

Similar Threads

  1. Install Xgl
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 04:13 AM
  2. trying to install k3b
    By nimbus in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-03-2003, 12:25 PM
  3. Re-Install LILO after W2K Install
    By Pleiades in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-18-2002, 04:58 PM
  4. GCC Install help
    By ericn in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2002, 02:28 AM
  5. php install
    By elovkoff in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2002, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •