Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    65

    desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    im using mandrake 8.1 with kde desktop on my cyrix 266, 64mb ram (will be 128 soon). i mainly use c compiler and im starting with linucxdatabase classes in school. i was wondering if there's a lighter desktop then kde (not so graphical i mean, loading the browser windows sometimes takes a while (10-20 secs i think) and can i install it with out having to reinstall entire linux? i like the colours and layout of kde. is there anthing similar but more of the ''windows 98'' type of generation. (98 ran fine on pc earlier).

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266


  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    Well I dont use Mandrake, but the lightest weight WMs that I can reccomend are IceWM and Fluxbox. Each are a bit trickier to configure than KDE or GNOME, but not hard at all. And especially fluxbox -- its fast as hell. One or two files configure that. Ones for the menus and the other is for the style and backgrounds and such. If you want to try it, KDE and GNOME can be fast (GNOME moreso than KDE these days). try lowering all of the special effects and all of the eye candy. That will help ALOT. Like get rid of the transparencies, animated crap, icon zooming, yadda yadda. That will speed it up a ton.

  4. #4

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    i can not recommend fvwm too highly. it is very nice.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    Dude -- PB, thats two grammar errors in two days :'( You didnt FINALLY pick up the art of drinking did you ??? Hopefully ;D

    [pbharris_translator]
    He meant he loves FVWM and cannot reccomend it higher than any other.
    [/pbharris_translator]

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    65

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    wow thanks for all the responses. i just downloaded icewdm and fluxbox (very small files actually, is this correct?).
    im going to try to install them now. i havent tried this before though. again many thanks for the help

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    They are small indeed. My guesstimate is under 5 megs each (possibly total). Especially Flux. Hell there is really not much to it, perhaps a 400K binary?? A few libraries... GNOME and KDE look like real bloat (pretty bloat) compared to Fluxbox and its kin.

  8. #8

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    [quote author=Schotty link=board=2;threadid=5252;start=0#51540 date=1034119394]
    Dude -- PB, thats two grammar errors in two days :'( You didnt FINALLY pick up the art of drinking did you ??? Hopefully ;D

    [pbharris_translator]
    He meant he loves FVWM and cannot reccomend it higher than any other.
    [/pbharris_translator]
    [/quote]

    thanks Schotty!! i wish my wife, kids, boss, mom, and wth - everyone had a pbharris_translator!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    65

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    well i tried to install the icewdm (haven found fluxbox yet for mandrake) 'tarball' but i can only load into kde console to to the installation instructions. when i do ./configure
    i get an error in the end ( ill do it again and write it down)
    can i boot up without any 'graphical part'? where can i set this? :-[
    at my login choice i only have kde, failsafe and default

  10. #10
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433

    Re:desktop for mandrake on cyrix 266

    [quote author=grasshopper link=board=2;threadid=5252;start=0#51683 date=1034266801]
    well i tried to install the icewdm (haven found fluxbox yet for mandrake) 'tarball' but i can only load into kde console to to the installation instructions. when i do ./configure
    i get an error in the end ( ill do it again and write it down)
    can i boot up without any 'graphical part'? where can i set this? :-[
    at my login choice i only have kde, failsafe and default

    [/quote]

    There should be RPMs on the 'Drake disk for IceWM. Also, you can set the system to boot to run level 3 (in the 'Drake control center), and then manually start X with the startx command. You need to put a file in your home directory named .xinitrc that should at a minimum contain the line;

    Code:
    icewm
    That will bring up IceWM when X starts.

    See also my PET on setting up IceWM for some helpful tips and pointers.


Similar Threads

  1. Can't get to Desktop in Konsole
    By tlinux in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 01:57 AM
  2. desktop icons
    By seanjuan in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 12:53 AM
  3. Whats this on the desktop?
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2005, 07:03 PM
  4. Desktop Screenshot
    By rooster in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2002, 10:19 PM
  5. System hangs w/Cyrix MII
    By robomax2k2 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-02-2001, 01:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •