Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novell Sucks Ass

Novell Sucks Ass

Every school I go to and every network I see uses Novell. And it never works, everytime on every network I have to login and click through like 5 errors. The sweetest network I've seen that had all its shit together was my computer science teachers. He had Redhat 7.2 with samba running on it and all the other workstations had win2k that logged into the network through samba. On top of that you had a shell account to use if you wanted to ssh into the redhat box and work through the console. Why can't every school do that?

Good Guru

Re:Novell Sucks Ass

Requires more than point and click skills by the weak admins

Novell is sweet, it's wonderfull.
    And I think you're lying about the number of Novell networks you've seen. I've been running it for at least 6 years in pretty big companies and everything was the way it should be,

I couldnt possibly be lying seeing as how i never mentioned the number of networks ive seen. The last about 12 schools that ive visited, both highschool and college have had Novell running when i checked out their labs. And when you logged in Novell would give error. Maybe its just dumbass admins that cant config or install the shit right, who knows, but from my experiences novell just looks like a hassle.

Edit: and as for my computer science teachers network with rh and win2k with samba, it was setup one day and up the entire senior school year. every other network thats been run with novell has fallen to pieces. It just seems that if your going to run windows workstations that log into a network, win2k and samba make a perfect match, thats all.

I have worked at three large consulting firms that use Novell for LAN/WAN and I have been happy with the performance overall. I'd rather be on Unix or Linux, but Novell beats the hell out of M$ servers any day.

must be a school thing then. : because these networks are screwed up beyond belief.