Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: fd0 not a block device

  1. #21

    Re:fd0 not a block device

    clt+alt+F8 should get ya back

  2. #22
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:fd0 not a block device

    [quote author=pbharris link=board=1;threadid=5189;start=0#51455 date=1034033787]
    clt+alt+F8 should get ya back
    [/quote]

    He meant f7, f8 wont work

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Paradise, Ca
    Posts
    177

    I bought the farm again

    <alas again>
    Schotty said:
    As for your VGA, try going to 16 bpp at 800x600 and see if that helps. Then we can crank it up from there.
    I did this, in fact tried 16 bit / 640 x 480 and it locked up tight again, with the colored screens and the only way out was reset.

    Now... I tried linux rescue but found no way to get to XF86config or XConfigurator ugh... and even tried urgrading my 8.0 to 8.0 and it wouldn't do that either.

    Before I format and reinstall 8.0 I want to see if there is a way (detailed please) to get the current 8.0 install to go back to 15 bits ?

  4. #24
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:fd0 not a block device

    here is a snippet of my /etc/X11/XF86Config file, right at the bottom --:

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier   "Screen0"
            Device       "ATI Rage 128"
            Monitor      "Monitor0"
            DefaultDepth    16
    
            Subsection "Display"
                    Depth       16
                    Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            EndSubsection
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode 0666
    EndSection
    Change both modes up a bit to your liking (like just 800x600, DefaultDepth and Depth lines to 15 and you ahould be okay.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Paradise, Ca
    Posts
    177

    Re:fd0 not a block device

    Schotty,

    Thanks for that.... but my problem is that I can't get past linux rescue and there doesn't seem to be any way for me from rescue shell to even get to /etc/X11

    I guess I wasn't clear enough, I know how to do it from a terminal but not from the rescue shell

    Whenever I boot it goes to the terrible screen colors and locks (with reset being the only way out) and until I can get it to boot into init3 (from rescue) I can't even change the mode

  6. #26
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:fd0 not a block device

    Okay dude, this is going to be a real easy one.

    Whenever you use a boot disk or a rescue option (like RH rescue CD), you will be in the cd's system, not your hard disks'. So wht you need to do in YOUR case here, is at the command prompt, do a :

    chroot /mnt/sysimage

    now you have made your hard disk the root directory, and cd'ing to /etc/X11/ will give you the right stuff. Then :

    exit
    exit

    will reboot the system safely. Its a bitch until you know how truly simple it is ;D I actually had to do this today, my passwd database got fucked on my workstation. Here the solution was the rescue mode, chroot, and 'passwd user' for each uesr (in case you find yourself into that RARE as hell issue.

    Try that. Plus, for the very same reason you have experienced, Slackware and many servers normally boot to runlevel 3, and when the user logs in loads X. Of course you may or may not wish to go that route -- personall taste thing more than anything.

Similar Threads

  1. Be the first on your block....
    By Fatal Error in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2005, 02:33 PM
  2. kernel compiling - Network Block Device Support
    By Compunuts in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 07:07 AM
  3. /dev/cdrom not a valid block device---Iam stuck. Pls help.
    By rhonneil in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2003, 01:45 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2003, 12:21 PM
  5. FTP server.. for only a certain ip block.
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2003, 06:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •