Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
hostname of a pc
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: hostname of a pc

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    31

    hostname of a pc

    Hey,
    my current host is set to localhost.localdomain
    I have boughed a domainname and I would like to set that instead of localhost.localdomain
    I only don't know how , I'm not asking how to do it cause it will be to long to explain but I'm asking what kind of how to should I look for read ?
    cause I have nu clue now
    greetz kemu

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    419

    Re:hostname of a pc

    Edit /etc/HOSTNAME

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    31

    Re:hostname of a pc

    ok
    will people then be able to instead of http://myip do http://www.myhostname.com to visit mysite ?
    i'm running apache
    any tutorial on this edithing hostname file
    btw there is no hostname file in /etc what now
    running mdk 8.2

  4. #4

    Re:hostname of a pc

    Short answer no it wont....You need to get DNS service for that. Try www.zoneedit.com for a free DNS service, if you have static ip that is...... Very good and free =) You then point it to your IP address, your hostname has nothing to do with that. You can name your box Mandrake.0wnz.me and have a domain called Microsoftsucks.com pointing to it, because all the domain name is concerned with is your IP ADDRESS....

Similar Threads

  1. hostname to IP
    By datamike in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 12:21 PM
  2. Hostname idea
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-15-2002, 08:41 PM
  3. DHCP and Hostname help
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2002, 10:00 AM
  4. hostname in iptables?
    By tolstoy in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2002, 10:02 PM
  5. Hostname
    By Schotty in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-05-2001, 02:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •