Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mandrake question from new convert

  1. #1

    Mandrake question from new convert

    I'm new to this forum and to Linux as such, so please excuse if this has already been brought up.
    I've installed Mandrake 8.1 (download edition) on a desktop PC and it recognised all the hardware nicely. However it keeps reporting that certain files are missing. Today I tried to connect to the network using DCHP and I was instantly greeted with the message that the client/daemon was missing (while TCP works fine). Am I missing the point, or is this particular distro lacking in certain areas?

  2. #2

    Re:Mandrake question from new convert

    Hello,
    Welcome to linuxjunior! on to the question at hand - now this distro should be fine but it is a bit dated, i think mnadrake 9.0 is out now and that version is about a year old. In any event it should have no difficulty beeing assigned an IP address by dhcp. What files does it day it is missing?

  3. #3
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:Mandrake question from new convert

    Yes, could you post us the exact error messages you're getting?


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    338

    Re:Mandrake question from new convert

    I used drake 8.1 download and went OL with
    cable modem and dhcp and the internet wizard
    builtinto drake.
    so what to do?
    i would # whereis missing.filename
    and if the files really are missing,
    use another machine to dl the missing files
    from rpmfind.net OR
    get new distro cds from cheapbytes.com, typical price
    $3 per distro. dont let problems with one distro
    hassle u too much - id try a newer drake or redhat.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811

    Re:Mandrake question from new convert

    Or perhaps for a quick try, make sure dhcpcd is installed:
    # rpm -q dhcpcd
    If it is, then try:
    # dhcpcd -h `hostname`
    And see, if you are offored a new IP.

  6. #6

    Re:Mandrake question from new convert

    Thanks for the replies.
    Yes, my version of mandrake is a bit dated. I'll try the 9.0 version and see how it goes.

Similar Threads

  1. convert doc to tif
    By mabar in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2006, 04:21 AM
  2. Mandrake urpmi/drakconf question
    By doria in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 02:45 PM
  3. mandrake 8.1 c compiler question
    By grasshopper in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2002, 03:16 PM
  4. Post-upgrade of XFCE on Mandrake question....
    By chadm1967 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2002, 11:08 AM
  5. Mandrake 8.0 cd question
    By boblucci in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2001, 02:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •