Thread: diff. between distro's

diff. between distro's

I have been using mandrake for a few weeks, so I'm new at all this. I was wondering what the difference of ease of use is between mandrake, which is always recomended to the beginner and say gentoo or slackware, which from what I understand, is reccomended to advanced users. So why the emphasis on user level, when you can run the same window managers on all distro's?

Thank you
    Dswissmiss

ps. ok, just figured out that gentoo is lfs, so I can understand why it's much harder...what about slackware though, if it infact is harder to use,

Re:diff. between distro's

Being reasonably new to linux myself and having experimented with a handful of distros the big differences that I have noticed are in three areas, 1. Amount of skill and knowledge required at install. Some make it super easy to install giving a person few choices while others require a greater knowlege of your computer, and what you want to install on it. I fit into the first category at this time hope soon to improve. 2. Although Linux is Linux each distro puts their own spin on presentation and helpful programs. It even goes down to the desktop enviroment that they support in principle, some gnome, some kde, and some use thier favorite wm. 3. Although this probably fits into #2 I feel that it stands on its own, how each handles packages, some rpm, some apt, some tar each has good points about it. Currently I am using a Debian based distro and I really like the apt package management it is a little easier than rpm to me but hey its your world, use what you like. That is the true beauty of linux there are enough choices out there to have a great computer system and they are all tailored to fit a niche of varying skill levels. Just my 2 cents

Hello,