Thread: Linux Half-Life

Linux Half-Life

'k, I know that HL will run under linux using wine, but most everywhere refers to winex. Can I get it running with wine rather than winex?

I can't get winex as I only have a modem at home (too slow) and no credit card. (can't pay for it)

This isn't of major importance, I could just keep using Wintendo, but it'd be nice to play it under linux.

TIA.

Good Guru

Re:Linux Half-Life

Could try plain vanilla wine, or Codeweaver's Wine. They are both free. Codewaever's may give you some better results. I got a subscription to WineX, so I use that primarily. It works pretty damn well. But I will say, that Codeweavers is pretty nice too.

I dont personally own HalfLife, but it may work out okay.

Thanks. I've already got the source for vanilla wine, so I'll try that first and give codeweavers a go if it doesn't work.

DUDE!!!!! Just CVS WineX!!! I'm using a modem, but it only took max an hour to download it! Then, just an easy compile and ur ready to roll! I even ran halflife, except, I havent been able to get my NVIDIA drivers working, so winex is pretty useless for me, but u should try it.
    -CJ

Good Guru

I currently subscribe to WineX They have gotten what ... 60 bucks out of me sofar? Nah 45 -- they are coming due for another payment soon though. Any way, I also own several nVIDIA cards -- what do you need help with? basically to ensure that stuff works download the two tarballs, GLX and kernel, and starting with the Kernel, install both. Before doing anything else -- modifiy your XF86Config to use the nividia driver and not to use DRI and glcore.

Code:
    f you already have an XF86Config file working with a different driver
    (such as the 'nv' or 'vesa' driver), then all you need to do is find
    the relevant Device section and replace the line:

Driver "nv"
        (or Driver "vesa")

with 

Driver "nvidia"  

In the Module section, make sure you have:

Load   "glx"

You should also remove the following lines: