Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Gnome 2 anyone ?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Gnome 2 anyone ?

  1. #1

    Gnome 2 anyone ?

    Just wondered if there are people here who use gnome 2 .. I recently installed it and i think its better than KDE 3 ..

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    ch-b, you are correct -- GNOME 2 does look better than KDE3. I have it onone box at this moment at home. I am running it on RedHat 7.2. Once 8.0 is released, my whole LAN will be GNOMEd. I just am not in the mood to do any more source installs of this magnitutde. Unless RH has some rpms out finally.

  3. #3

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    yep .. its not easy to install it from source - but there are beta rpms from ximian around ..

    http://primates.ximian.com/~jacob/gnome-2-snapshots/

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    I am trying my best to avoid Ximian's stuff. redHat has an unbelievalbe problem playing nicely with them during OS upgrades. But you do have a point. Ximians' stuff is very nice, and simple as hell to deal with.

  5. #5

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    I am runing GNOME 2 for the most part (the packages in Debian Unstable). It's pretty fast compared to Gnome 1.4 and KDE 2.x/3.x.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    Okay, am I acting brain damaged?? I installed SuSE on my box at work (to test the integrity of one of the dupes I made) and I got it installed. Grabbed the GNOME2 rpms off of suse.com. I load it up (and did the slight mod that GNOME reccomended) and I get no text or proper GTK widgets (not all but most are borked). What the hell? RedHat worked okay. I am reloading it with RedHat now.... but still is there something I missed?

  7. #7

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    I have it installed, but I've yet to play with it. I installed gentoo two or three weeks back, and I'm STILL drooling over KDE 3. Gimme a few more months to get over it

  8. #8

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    yep i also had kde3 installed before - but for now it is gnome 2 ;D

  9. #9

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    Honestly, it felt a lot like Gnome 1.4 to me. It might be a little faster.

    On the other hand GDM sure has changed a lot, it is pretty but it seems to have less functionality than before.

  10. #10

    Re:Gnome 2 anyone ?

    anyone know where to find a slackware package of it?

Similar Threads

  1. KDE and GNOME
    By GastonV in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 06:58 PM
  2. Gnome 2.10
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2005, 03:11 PM
  3. Anyone using Gnome-2.8 ?
    By shebang in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 06:04 PM
  4. Installing Gnome apps without gnome.....
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2002, 12:20 AM
  5. Gnome took over KDE! >:(
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2002, 02:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •