Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Network browsing using Konq

  1. #1

    Network browsing using Konq

    Just wondering if it's possible to set this up, I've got everything else working and am using a program called xfsamba to do it currently.

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:Network browsing using Konq

    You just need to set up LISa in your Control Center/Network/LAN Browsing.

  3. #3

    Re:Network browsing using Konq

    I did that correctly I think, but when I type lan://ip.ad.dy/ it comes up saying it can't find it, I'm guessing there's a proper way to start LISa that I don't know yet. I've checked out some of the online docs and none have been too helpful.

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:Network browsing using Konq

    I found out that after making changes to LISa it's best to restart the computer. Try that, see what happens.

  5. #5

    Re:Network browsing using Konq

    For me to get that working using;

    /what/ever/your/kde/path/bin/lisa &

    from the command prompt would start it. That is after running through the Lisa setup in the control panel.

    Aslo if you get a localhost not found or similar error. Make sure you have the machine in your /etc/hosts file. Such as,

    192.168.1.10 your.machine.name

    For me I have never needed to restart the machine when modifying or configuring Lisa. At most, especially if you modify your hosts file, all you should need to do is;

    /etc/init.d/network restart

    or whatever is appropriate for your distro. As always, YMMV especially since I have not used xfsamba.

  6. #6

    Re:Network browsing using Konq

    Ah so! Thank you Mr. Bond..er..Mr. CloverM and Mr. Stumbles. After getting the proper bin thing going it seems to work okay. ;D

    xfsamba imo is somewhat weak since it can only view one other computer at a time and the minor annoyance is that I have to manually put in which IP addy I want it to look at.

    On yet another note, I got a seperate Konq icon on my desktop for lan browsing now. :P

Similar Threads

  1. Apache Website Browsing
    By honey bee in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2007, 08:50 AM
  2. Speed Up Browsing
    By regix in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 12:53 AM
  3. controlling browsing...
    By ph34r in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2004, 06:41 PM
  4. Konq
    By mmiller9 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2003, 12:16 AM
  5. Giving konq a fair shake...
    By Killer_Penguin in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-05-2002, 11:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •