Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Getting BlackBox to work in RedHat 7.3

  1. #1

    Getting BlackBox to work in RedHat 7.3

    Hi everyone, I just wanted to ask for some help with something...
    I'm not too much of a newbie in linux (I do some C and java programming for university), however I'm a TOTAL newbie at installing programs / window managers etc etc (basically anything besides editing and compiling some .C or .java programs) =)...

    so I was wondering if someone could help me get blackbox to work ? KDE just seems a bit slow for my liking and looking at blackbox / fluxbox, they look a lot nicer and more customisable...
    anyways basically I've searched the blackbox instructions and readme's that come with it, but I still can't manage figure out how to 1.) install it properly (I would prefer the path to be my home directory (ie. /home/inferno/blackbox), and 2.) how to get it running with a theme that I have downloaded from freshmeat.net.

    well hopefully I wont attract too many flames, I'm just looking for some help, and if anyone can help me, I'd really appreciate it =)

    well thanks in advance =)

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    64

    Re:Getting BlackBox to work in RedHat 7.3

    I believe there is a PET for fluxbox on this very site, I would think blackbox would be fairly similar.

    The other option is just to grab the rpm from here (not checked if they have one that will work with RedHat 7.3)...

    http://www.rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2htm...query=blackbox

    To install it just type...

    Code:
    rpm -Uvh filename.rpm
    Regards

    ed

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Getting BlackBox to work in RedHat 7.3

    any 7.x rpm should work fine. I do know that the tarball is easily installed.

    tar zxvf nameoftar.tar.gz
    cd nameofnewdir
    ./configure
    make
    sudo make install

    thats all there is to it if you go the source route. SpookyEddy is absolutely correct for installation of the rpm.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    92

    Re:Getting BlackBox to work in RedHat 7.3

    JimH at the GLO has mad a RedHat 7.3 rpm of blackbox, heres the link

    http://www.getlinuxonline.com/yabbse...y;threadid=991

    Cheers
    LiNuts

Similar Threads

  1. Blackbox .70 is out!!!
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 11:28 PM
  2. Blackbox RPM's for RH 7.3
    By JimH in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-28-2002, 02:26 AM
  3. How can a winmodem work under RedHat.
    By shahan01 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-28-2002, 03:00 PM
  4. Possible Blackbox bug
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2002, 11:52 PM
  5. BlackBox
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 10:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •