Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to change monitor refresh rate?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    54

    How to change monitor refresh rate?

    I have just installed Linux (Slackware) for the 1st time, and now I'm trying to configure everything.

    In X my monitor runs at 60Hz, and I just dont know how to increase that. I know it can do at least 75Hz at that resolution (1024x768).


  2. #2
    Guest

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    vi /etc/X11/XF86Config

    you're looking for this:

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor0"
            VendorName   "Eizo"
            ModelName    "FlexScan F340i-W"
    
            HorizSync       27-61.5
            VertRefresh     55-90
    
    EndSection

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    54

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Thanks for the reply, but I already tried changes those values. But that doesnt really seem to change anything, my screen still looks terrible.
    I read about the 'xvidtune' program, but running that gives me an "Floating point exception" error.

    I have XFree86 version 4.2.0 with Kernel 2.4.18, running on a Pentium 133 with 48MB. My video card is S3 Trio64.
    Yea I know, old computer; but that doenst mean it shouldnt work (it works allright in Windows!)

    I'm sorry to say this, but this is where Linux is getting frustrating for me...

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    [quote author=Bartman link=board=6;threadid=4046;start=#40182 date=1025805968]
    Thanks for the reply, but I already tried changes those values. But that doesnt really seem to change anything, my screen still looks terrible.
    I read about the 'xvidtune' program, but running that gives me an "Floating point exception" error.

    I have XFree86 version 4.2.0 with Kernel 2.4.18, running on a Pentium 133 with 48MB. My video card is S3 Trio64.
    Yea I know, old computer; but that doenst mean it shouldnt work (it works allright in Windows!)

    I'm sorry to say this, but this is where Linux is getting frustrating for me...
    [/quote]

    Could you post the contents of your XF86Config file? We'll figure out where the problem is.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    54

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Allright, this is XF86Config (stripped of comments to save space)

    Code:
    Section "Module"
        Load        "dbe"
        SubSection  "extmod"
          Option    "omit xfree86-dga"
        EndSubSection
        Load        "type1"
        Load        "freetype"
    EndSection
    Section "Files"
        RgbPath"/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
        ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    EndSection
    Section "ServerFlags"
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier"Keyboard1"
        Driver"Keyboard"
        Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
        Option "XkbRules""xfree86"
        Option "XkbModel""pc101"
        Option "XkbLayout""be"
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier"Mouse1"
        Driver"mouse"
        Option "Protocol"    "IntelliMouse"
        Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
    EndSection
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier  "My Monitor"
        HorizSync   30-64
        VertRefresh 50-90
    EndSection
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "S3 Trio64 (generic)"
        Driver      "vesa"
        # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier  "Screen 1"
        Device      "S3 Trio64 (generic)"
        Monitor     "My Monitor"
        DefaultDepth 16 
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes       "1024x768" "640x480" "800x600"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes       "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes       "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier  "Simple Layout"
        Screen "Screen 1"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    I could also post XFree86.0.log, but thats quite a large file and doenst mention anything at all about Refresh Rates.

    An other oddity I noticed is that the refresh rate at 8bpp and 16bpp is not the same with these settings.
    I am currently using KDE 3.0 as Desktop, but that shouldnt have to do anything with it. (assuming I understood the workings of X correctly)

  6. #6
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Looks like your Monitor section is incomplete. Try modifying it like this (I got these numbers from my config file, I'm not sure if they will work with your monitor.):

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier  "My Monitor"
            HorizSync  30-64
            VertRefresh 50-90
    # 640x480, 60.0Hz; hfreq=31.469000, vfreq=59.939999
    ModeLine "640x480" 25.17  640  648  744  784  480  482  484  509 -hsync -vsync
    # 640x480, 72.0Hz; hfreq=37.861000, vfreq=72.808998
    ModeLine "640x480" 31.50  640  656  696  816  480  481  484  504 -hsync -vsync
    # 640x480, 75.0Hz; hfreq=37.500000, vfreq=75.000000
    ModeLine "640x480" 31.50  640  656  720  840  480  481  484  500 -hsync -vsync
    # 800x600, 60.0Hz; hfreq=37.879002, vfreq=60.317001
    ModeLine "800x600" 40.00  800  840  968 1056  600  601  605  628 +hsync +vsync
    # 800x600, 72.0Hz; hfreq=48.077000, vfreq=72.188004
    ModeLine "800x600" 50.00  800  856  976 1040  600  637  643  666 +hsync +vsync
    # 800x600, 75.0Hz; hfreq=46.875000, vfreq=75.000000
    ModeLine "800x600" 49.50  800  816  896 1056  600  601  604  625 +hsync +vsync
    # 1024x768, 70.0Hz; hfreq=56.476002, vfreq=70.069000
    ModeLine "1024x768" 75.00 1024 1048 1184 1328  768  771  777  806 -hsync -vsync
    # 1024x768, 75.0Hz; hfreq=60.022999, vfreq=75.028999
    ModeLine "1024x768" 78.75 1024 1040 1136 1312  768  769  772  800 +hsync +vsync
    # 1152x864, 75.0Hz; hfreq=67.500000, vfreq=75.000000
    ModeLine "1152x864"108.00 1152 1216 1344 1600  864  865  868  900 +hsync +vsync
    # 1280x1024, 75.0Hz; hfreq=79.975998, vfreq=75.025002
    ModeLine "1280x1024"135.00 1280 1296 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Cloverm is correct -- but if his settings dont work, rerun xf86config and see if that helps any.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    54

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Thanks again for the replies, but really it doesnt seem to change anything at all. If I didnt know better, its like X just ignores all those ModeLines.
    I already decided to just re-install everything with an other distro (still have to choose which, probably Mandrake) and hope it will work better.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    did you rerun xf86config ? Go step by step and start choosing generic settings. Now if you get a good display (granted at 16 bit & 640x480) you know that your install went good. There is the slight chance that you have a bad install cd or a corrupt file on your disk.

    If you want a good distro for newcomers I would reccomend RedHat or Mandrake. Mandrake is a little to....well.. it hold ones hand a little more than I need. But if you are new -- that may very well be what you need. RedHat is great for anyone. It works well. Plus it has a great support base. Everyone and their brother either uses RedHat or knows someone that does.

    I dont know if you know or have the cash for it. But if you like the Sims, Mandrake has a special version which includes that and a limited WineX subscription. WineX is an evolving emlator for Winders software. Its in the area of $70-80 US. But is worth it if you want Mandrake.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    54

    Re:How to change monitor refresh rate?

    Fixed now, I found out I was using the wrong driver for X

Similar Threads

  1. Rate the game
    By Liheime in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 01:08 PM
  2. Refresh rate limited to 60 hz in Ubuntu? (FIXED)
    By AljoshaNL in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 11:07 AM
  3. Red Hat 8.0 Refresh Problems
    By mborrill in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2002, 04:19 PM
  4. Changing Refresh rate??
    By otheos in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2001, 10:01 PM
  5. Adjust the Refresh Rate in Slack
    By johnqpublic in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2001, 01:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •