Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
CD Distros and Knoppix

Thread: CD Distros and Knoppix

CD Distros and Knoppix

Warning: Total newbie here... in case I run on...

I've been kicking the tires on linux for about 2 weeks now, and I'm very surprised. I expected poor graphics, weak user interfaces, etc. I downloaded Open Office and Mozilla (and other open source programs) for Windows over the last few months, and liked them better than some products I paid for.... so I thought I'd give Linux a look. The mainstream media makes you think you have to be an expert to even try it, but that is not what I found so far.

Gentoo is definitely out of my league (for now), RH 7.3 was very easy to get installed/ running, SUSE's live demo CD was a little off on my video display, Demo Linux was interesting, and Knoppix (www.linuxiso.org) was the best boot CD distro I tried so far - easy, fast, and packed with stuff. Amazing what fits on one CD. I'm going to try Dragon (based on Slack?) when the new release comes out, and Virtual Linux as well. My goal is to find the "best" CD distro to get other people hooked.