Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Finally, a cool class!

Thread: Finally, a cool class!

Finally, a cool class!

After two years of taking dumb, Java-based, Windows-based computer classes, I finally get to take a cool class. This class is all about UNIX programming. We can only program in ANSI C using either VI or EMACS. Towards the end of the term, we get into a brief intro into Perl.

We are using Solaris, not Linux, but I'm hoping the two are close enough for me to transfer my skills both ways. We also have the option of using CDE. I've never used CDE before, but I've used Linux clones of it (I can't remember its name).

I've never been restricted to ANSI C before. I've never actually had a C programming class (they were all Java-based), so I don't even know where that line between C and C++ is (I know it has something to do with classes, etc). I don't even know the difference between ANSI C and Non-ANSI C (something about no inline functions or assembly. Bummer). Luckily, gcc (the compiler we use) has an -ANSI option to let me know if I'm using ANSI C.