Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: X wont start in RH7.3

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    89

    X wont start in RH7.3

    Hi
    I recently did a network install of red-hat 7.3, and now X dont work. Ive tried KDE, GNOME, Fluxbox, and all I get is this message (of what I can see):
    Code:
    Module Loader Present
    Markers (Bla Bla Bla)
    (==)Log file: /var/log/XFree86.0.log, Time: Sun...
    (==) Using config file "/etc/X11/XF86Config-4"
    
    Fatal Server Error:
    AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0
    
    (BLA BLA BLA)
    XIO: Fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0" after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining)
    Check out http://203.79.117.195/xerror.txt for my error log and xsettings.txt for my settings.

    tried XForwarding(http://www.afn.org~afn57538/xforward.htm) This seems stupid caus there is nothing here that happens in the application.

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    hello,
    if you haven't try re-running xconfigurator try it, or xf86config. the log you have posted says the system does not support multiple mtrr, but i know the rh kernel does support multiple mtrr's by default.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    89

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    Ran xf86config, same result as before.
    I Did an upgrade to 7.3 from 7.2, could this help?

  4. #4

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    hello, what version of xfree86 were you running and what verison are you running now? also - can you provided the spec oin the system?

    also check out:
    http://www.probo.com/timr/savage40.html

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    89

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    Humm...
    Its a 133mhz, Generic monitor, Generic Vid Card, Generic everything.
    Im running the version of X that comes with 7.3, dont know what it is
    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    I had this happen to me the other day, when my monitor resolution was incorrect and again when I misconfigured my work box with regards to the VRAM on the VGA card. I thought the card had 2MB, when it had only 1MB. Essentially the same problem -- incorrect resolutions, however check that the info you are giving the xf86config program are as accurate as possible. If you dont know the answer to a question -- pop the case and look at the card if necessary.

  7. #7

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    Either that, or when you're configuring it give it the dumbest options physically possible, and work your way up from there. If you get X starting but looking really ugly, you know you're on the right track.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    89

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    Humm...
    Ok, Im now not giving a rats ass about the fact it dont start on the acutal machine (Its going to go and live in a cupboard), Now my problem is the fact that all the RemoteX tutorials dont seem to work, and I still get the same error when trying to do startx over PuTTy.
    Or, I could just bribe my dad to get another Chaintech Apogee along with a Amd 1700+ Athalon, swipe the grapics card from the windows box im getting for my birthday, buy some 5.1 speakers, pinch my spiffy optical mouse, and basically have a near Ultimate Linux gaming machine! *mum walks past and clears up drool from mouth*


    any way, thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    Work on getting it locally first. Trust me on that. Get X configured properly on the local end first. Now, if you could post your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and the most detail on your VGA card and monitor as possible, I am more than willing to help configure the bad boy. Then we can worry about a ssh remote X tunnel ;D

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    89

    Re:X wont start in RH7.3

    yo
    ive done that (xcfg4.txt), and found out somthing real queer, get this:
    I ran "xf86cfg" as it does (along with that numpad mouse emulator), it loaded the grapical thing, only in FVWM but I cant run anything else that uses X, oh, and when doing that, Mouse dont work, nor does the keyboard (except the Numpad)

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Computer wont start most switch-ons
    By Smegma in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-19-2004, 10:15 PM
  2. Emacs is there but wont run!
    By aromes in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2003, 11:15 PM
  3. Planeshift wont run!
    By cj171 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2003, 10:43 PM
  4. Wvstreams wont compile
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2002, 09:02 AM
  5. RH Wont Boot!!
    By BJ250 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-22-2002, 06:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •