Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: Installing a new PDC on a NT Domain

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    75

    Re: Installing a new PDC on a NT Domain

    Hmmm... I may have some work for me... I have to put the server in place on Jan. 6th... so I have time to install stuff, kinda...

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    75

    Re: Installing a new PDC on a NT Domain

    Ok, This server is now the BDC on the domain... I manually demoted it and changed the Domain as explained at this page. http://is-it-true.org/nt/registry/rtips94.shtml

    Now I rebooted, and this server IS a memeber of the proper domain... I can go into user manager for domains and do everything... Server manager lists this computer as a workstation however. Also, I can login with the password set for THIS computer, however, no domain passwords work properly...

  3. #13

    Re: Installing a new PDC on a NT Domain

    I guess the big question is do the workstations still authenticate with the domain correctly. As long as normal users can log in and work normally, you are in ok shape. You shouldn't have had to done a registry hack however to demote and promote anything. I've had to promote a server about 2 years ago, so don't remeber the exact steps to the process, but I believe I did it all through server manager without any registry hacks. Basically, I installed a BDC, then turned off both the PDC and BDC. I brought the BDC up without the PDC, it gave me an error that no PDC was running, then the option to promote it on spot. I then relegated the old PDC to the trash heap.

    As for only being able to log on with a local account, make sure that you are logging onto the domain and not the computer. Also, try putting the domain admin in the server's local admin group.

    If I were you, I would restore the registry. Re-promote the old PDC and try again using server manager. *As always make sure everything is backed up.

    Try these links:

    http://support.microsoft.com/directo...;EN-US;Q167248

    http://support.microsoft.com/directo...;EN-US;Q112549

    They should help you out some.

Similar Threads

  1. forwarding non-existent user to remote hosted domain of same domain name?
    By pushpraj nimbalkar in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 09:50 PM
  2. Domain ?
    By vern in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 08:51 PM
  3. Domain Name Hosting retrieval of domain?
    By Rastar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 03:46 PM
  4. Having a little fun with my new domain name...
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-31-2002, 07:29 PM
  5. The .ws domain???
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2002, 04:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •