Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Verizon DSL

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Verizon DSL

    I haven't posted in a while, as the Rhythms outtage ruined my access.
    I'm in the process of re-acquiring dsl access, and it seems one of the only companies that will provision for me is Verizion DSL.
    They say they only support windows machines. I only use linux at home, so I'm giving them a whirl anyway.
    My question.....anyone else here use Verizon DSL? What are your thoughts. Any tips I ought to know?
    Just wondering.


    Greg

  2. #2
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re: Verizon DSL

    i use verizon and the only SUPPORT *windows but you can connect with linux, just go to http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/
    and get their pppoe program. that exactly what winpoet is ( Point to Point Protocol Over Ethernet )

    it's super easy to use you'll be online in minutes

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Re: Verizon DSL

    Thanks for the reply boblucci. I assumed it could be done. Admittedly, I'm not the sharpest when it comes to networking. I like the fact that a tech doesn't have to come, I can do it all myself. They told me that I'd be using dhcp, so how does pppoe figure into this?

    Glad you've had good results....one look at dslreports.com and I thought I might be willingly asking for a headache. But they're one of the only ones who can deliver to my house.

    Greg

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re: Verizon DSL

    your best be is to get everything working and register your connection with a windows pc, and once the dsl connection is up and working it dosent really matter what you use to connect with ( windows or linux ).

    I dual boot slack and win98 and they both work equally as well.

    get that pppoe program for roaring pengiun and install it.

    if you dont already have one GET A FIREWALL i say use this firewall www.pointman.org download it and use it, it works great for me.

    then go to the site https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 and hit " probe my ports" and let it tell you how secure you are.

    good luck!!

  5. #5

    Re: Verizon DSL

    Amen to the firewall, even the wifes WinDoZe box passes grc's tests behind my itty bitty firewall. IPTables are 8)

    --glenn

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Re: Verizon DSL

    My equipment finally arrived, and I'm trying to install it in linux first. (I suspect I can do it in Windows, but I'm trying to do as much in linux as possible.) I've had dsl before, sdsl with a static IP. I found that pretty easy to set up.

    My question is, how do I set up the ethernet card to recognize dhcp?
    I downloaded and installed rp-pppoe and that seemed to install correctly.
    I typed netcfg and tried to configure my eth1 card.....
    I gave it a bogus address (192.168.1.1.), should I have done that?
    For Proto, is checked dhcp.
    Attboot, I checked yes
    When I try to activate it, I get an error message:

    "Determining IP information for eth1...Operation Failed.
    Failed."

    Any ideas what I'm missing?
    Anything else I need to set up adsl?
    BTW, eth0 is my lan confguration.

    Thanks for your help.


    Greg

  7. #7

    Re: Verizon DSL

    ppp0 will get the address through rp, not eth0.

    Nice thought, but wrong adapter!
    Just bring eth0 w/o an address.

    ~Guitarlynn

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Re: Verizon DSL

    Hi Guitarlynn,
    Thanks for the answer. I'm a little confused though. eth0 is my lan connection. My DSL modem (a Westell) has cat 5 cable that goes to my second ethernet card (eth1.) In linuxconf, how do I configure eth1? Or don't I. And if I don't, how would I use ppp0 to use the ethernet card? I think I just don't know much about ppp0.

    Thanks for the help.

    Greg



  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Re: Verizon DSL

    Just to let you know, I did some research on ppp0, and discovered an /etc/ppp directory, probably from when I loaded rp-pppoe. In it, I found all the files to make my connection work.

    Thanks for the help.


    Greg

  10. #10
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re: Verizon DSL

    i'll try to clear it up a little, if you still need it.

    netconfig

    eth0 will be your LAN connection and you'll set it to 192.168.1.1 and leave it at static.

    eth1 will be your connection to the dsl modem and you'll make that dhcp.

    the ppp0 connection will only be there when there is an active connection to the internet, if you disconnect from the internet and type "ifconfig" you'll see that only "lo" "eth0 /with the address of 192.168.1.1" and "eth1" with no ip address asigned to it" when you connect to the internet and do "ifconfig" "ppp0" will be added and that will reflect the ip address.

Similar Threads

  1. Did you miss verizon dsl questions?
    By goddess88 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-15-2004, 01:34 PM
  2. Verizon DSL or TimeWarner Cable
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-30-2004, 07:48 AM
  3. Yet another Verizon DSL issue.
    By iceolate in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-21-2004, 11:12 PM
  4. redhat 9 verizon dsl setup
    By Jtsky in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-03-2004, 03:54 PM
  5. Verizon and RIAA square off
    By mcdougrs in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2003, 03:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •