Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: configuring blackbox?

  1. #1
    Guest

    configuring blackbox?

    hola,

    just curious as to how i can edit my /usr/sbin/fndsession file.
    i logged in as root without using X, used emacs, and basically the file seems blank.
    i tried it in kde after switching to superloser but that still didnt seem to show anything. what could i be doing wrong?

    SD

  2. #2

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    You want to configure blackbox?

    Look at ~/.blackboxrc for configuration, and ~/.blackbox-menu for the menu, IIRC. If you don't have those files, the global equivalents will be somewhere in /etc

  3. #3
    Guest

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    in still a little new but learning linux. where would that file be?


  4. #4

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    .blackboxrc should be in /home/username (note hiding period) use "ls -a"


    If you're wanting to configure things like startup comands and backgrounds/themes:

    In your /home/username do "ls -a" and see if you have a .blackbox dir (note the hiding period again), if not make it.

    copy blackbox-menu from /etc/X11/blackbox/ (at least that's where it is with Mandy) to your ~/.blackbox

    edit ~/.blackbox/blackbox-menu


    HTH

  5. #5

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    Just noticed something --

    just curious as to how i can edit my /usr/sbin/fndsession file.
    /usr/sbin/fndsession is a binary, that means it's a program that you run, not a file that you edit. In that case, you'd need to get the source code and recompile it if you wanted to edit that file

    Also, whenever you see ~/ at the start of a path, that means "this file is located in a user's home directory, ie /home/joeblow/file" So if your username is willie, and I tell you to edit ~/.blackboxrc, that means you should edit /home/willie/.blackboxrc.

  6. #6
    Guest

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    hey thanx for getting back to me.
    2 things. you say i need to compile fndsession? all i can find if the rpm for that and i think that would be no good right?

    i only see blackbox installed in /usr/local/bin/blackbox, i dont see anything related to blackbox (.blackboxrc) in my home directory even with the hidden files shown. does this sound retarded?
    i cant understand how linuxnewbie.org can call that an NHF for installing blackbox when it isnt as simple as it seems. im a newbie.....yet that nhf seems cut and dried but yet...........im stil scratching my butt.......errrrrrr, head........
    same thing

    SD

  7. #7

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    I think we need to know what it is that you are aiming to do, before we can help fully.


  8. #8

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    you say i need to compile fndsession?
    No, I said if you wanted to edit fndsession, you'd have to compile it - but it's obvious that you can't code and don't need to change fndsession (sorry if that offends). Whatever you read, you'll probably want to run fndsession, but I've never heard of it, and I've never needed it to use blackbox.

    i dont see anything related to blackbox (.blackboxrc) in my home directory even with the hidden files shown. does this sound retarded?
    No, it's likely that you don't have a user config file, you've just been using the global config file for it (/etc/blackboxrc, or it could be hidden in /etc/X11 somewhere). Just copy it to ~/.blackboxrc then edit it to your liking.

    i cant understand how linuxnewbie.org can call that an NHF for installing blackbox when it isnt as simple as it seems.
    (I can't believe I'm saying this, but...)

    apt-get install blackbox. Was that hard?

  9. #9

    Re: configuring blackbox?

    I looked at my docs and it says that .blackboxrc will be writen the first time you finish a BB session.

    If you've been into BB then you might check permisions (all though highly unlikely that you can't write to your own home dir)

    Themes.org used to have some great stuff on configuring BB, that was before all the changes there. Last time I checked it wasn't there any more but it might be worth investigating.

    --edit--
    I've been using MS far too long

  10. #10
    Guest

    Re: ok then  :)

    i got blackbox in my login
    manager finally so when x starts i can choose it. i
    had to edit my .xinitrc file. now it reads like this:

    exec startkde #for kde
    exec gnome-session #for gnome
    exec wmaker #for windowmaker
    exec enlightenment #for enlightenment
    exec blackbox #for blackbox


    my question is this though: when blackbox starts its
    not like it was originally. i can only right click(i
    think its right) to get to the menu, and theres
    nothing really in the menu at all. it wasnt like this
    when i got it up the first time. any ideas?? thanx for
    all the help.

    SD


Similar Threads

  1. Blackbox .70 is out!!!
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 11:28 PM
  2. Blackbox RPM's for RH 7.3
    By JimH in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-28-2002, 02:26 AM
  3. Possible Blackbox bug
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2002, 11:52 PM
  4. BlackBox
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 10:36 PM
  5. Blackbox requirements
    By airhead in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2001, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •