Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Starting X automatically...

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    27

    Starting X automatically...

    Hi,

    one more time I got stuck with RedHat 7.2, on another desktop machine. I want to make X start automatically. Normally, AFAIK, you have to change the Runlevel 3 (and the RH manual says so), but I cannot do it. There a a lot of application, but no startx nor xinit to choose between them.
    So, what file do I have to change manually to do so? And all this only happens because I selected the wrong mode when installing...

    Thanks

    ???

  2. #2

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    Welcome to ljr ..

    just open /etc/inittdefaults and look for a line like

    id:3:initdefault: and replace it with

    id:5:initdefault:

    now it should boot into X ..


  3. #3
    Guest

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    or if that file doesn't exist or work try /etc/inittab

  4. #4

    Re: Starting X automatically...


    or if that file doesn't exist or work try /etc/inittab
    dang thats what i meant .. sorry

  5. #5
    Guest

    Re: Starting X automatically...


    dang thats what i meant .. sorry
    yea that's what i thought

  6. #6
    Associate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    27

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    it was etc/inittab
    Thanks a lot!

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    Are there any other files that can contribute to X starting during runlevel 5. Recently on my main box at home, runlevel 5 doesnt goto X. I must start xdm on my own.

  8. #8

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    it depends on how the inittab is configured for example X is runlevel 4 here on my slack system .

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    Nah, I used to have runlevel 5 as KDM. Now since the box ran out of drivespace once (bad filecopy that was supposed to be a batch transfer of ~1GB of MP3's turned into a 5GB single file) the machine hasnt been acting right. Took me a bit to figure it out. I saw that the transfer was odd, killed it and restarted. Well now my runlevels are as following

    1) No LAN, single user
    2) No LAN, multiuser
    3) LAN, multiuser
    4) Same as 3
    5) Same as 3, 4
    6) reboot

    5 Should be , LAN, Multiuser, XDM

    I have NO clue. I am thinking my second project this weekend is gonna be backing up my home dir and reinstalling.

    If anyone has [glow=red,2,300]ANY[/glow] viable solution short of wiping and reinstalling, I am willing to ship a case of beer, really.

  10. #10

    Re: Starting X automatically...

    check the config in /etc/rc.5 or maybe in /etc/init.d/rc.5.

    ~Guitarlynn

Similar Threads

  1. User password expires automatically
    By Suhas! in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 07:56 AM
  2. Samba automatically adding XP Pro client
    By robh@openplains.com.au in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 12:20 PM
  3. automatically log on to Windows XP
    By regix in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-15-2005, 07:31 PM
  4. how to start Tomcat automatically
    By alloy in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-2002, 10:19 AM
  5. debian logs me in automatically
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2002, 01:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •