Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Debian and KDE3

  1. #1

    Debian and KDE3

    Has anyone installed KDE3 on Debian? I know you have to uninstall all of KDE2 before you can install KDE3, but (and I may seem silly to think that it will) does that affect any user preferences? E.g. will my Kmail settings be preserved, as well as my icon sets? How about those settings I set for all users? I'm a little unsure as to what it all affects.

  2. #2

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    All your setting will stay the same. I rm'ed KDE2, installed KDE3, killed KDE3, installed RH 7.3 w/KDE3 , and after all that ALL my KDE stuff was still there! :P

  3. #3
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    Put these two lines in your sources.list:

    Then install kdebase and any other packages you want to upgrade.

    Your personal settings should not be affected by the upgrade.

  4. #4

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    I was able to compile KDE3 from source on my Debian (sid) box and everyting is just fine. Just follow the instructions on the KDE site about compiling from source and all will be good, until the real Debian packages are available.

  5. #5

    Re: Debian and KDE3


    Put these two lines in your sources.list:

    Thanks for that. I use Blackbox and I am a diehard fan of it but I want to check out kde3. I just have been too lazy to look for this info or to post and ask about it.

  6. #6

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    i just want my 8th post haha

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    92

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    I did as Cloverm suggested and used the two sources, Then i installed kdelibs 1st, then kdebase, and finally arts. after that you can install any other kde program you want.

    I didn't uninstall any of my old kde2.2.2, and the apt-get install went very smoothly, the only problem was that as i have a 56k dial-up, i got a few server closed connections, after about 1 and a half hours, but i simply re apt-got, and it carried on from where it was closed.

    Now how do i get my koffice back, kde3 uninstalled it, is there i version that will work with kde3?.
    Cheers
    LiNuts

  8. #8

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    I give KDE3 a thumbs down.. *It is nice BUT it uses 99% of my cpy ONLY idling.. *BB uses 1-2% of my cpu.

    >KDE3 >
    8)Blackbox 8)
    BTW I got a k6-2 550 MHZ 125MB Ram

  9. #9

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    99% of CPU when idling is not right. Idling is supposed to be idle. Something's wrong.

    And I believe all your settings, etc will be stored in your home directory so you can safely remove to your heart's content.

  10. #10

    Re: Debian and KDE3

    I checked top and it said that kdeinit was using 99% of cpu...

Similar Threads

  1. apt-get and kde3
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2002, 05:44 PM
  2. Debian/kde3
    By PaulWeaver in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-21-2002, 05:01 PM
  3. KDE3 Logon
    By NewGuy in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2002, 11:02 PM
  4. kde3
    By rwtoften in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2002, 10:03 PM
  5. KDE3 and Debian
    By cloverm in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-04-2002, 05:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •